Results 1 to 8 of 8

HELP! I was installing the new OS v4.5.0.81 from Rogers last night. I followed the ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    jfpannone's Avatar
    jfpannone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    61

    Phone won't turn on

    Advertisement



    HELP!

    I was installing the new OS v4.5.0.81 from Rogers last night. I followed the instructions exactly from the post labeled

    " How to: OS 4.x Upgrade for your Blackberry "

    However, it froze at some point during the installation. The whole computer froze. I had to shut down and since then my phone won't boot up, and the led indicator won't stop blinking red. The blink pattern is 2 quick red blinks then pause, 2 quick red blinks, pause..continuing like this.

    The device also cannot be recognized by the pc anymore.

    any advice would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    jf,

    First off, don't panic! This process will require a lot of patience!

    Try this thread first.

    If that doesn't work, you will need to wipe your device completely using this thread, then try loading the OS again.

    Good luck! We're here to help!

    Roger

  3. #3
    jfpannone's Avatar
    jfpannone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    61
    Thanks RoGro!

    I am going to try now and will let you know how turns out.

  4. #4
    jfpannone's Avatar
    jfpannone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    61
    Well, I had to wipe my device...

    but I do now have the new OS installed and it is running much faster.

    I was freaked out all morning. phewww! Thanks for the advice!

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Excellent! Glad you're back up and running. Kinda figured you would have to wipe it, but never hurts to try!

  6. #6
    hivemachine's Avatar
    hivemachine no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22
    Goona wait after OS 4.5.0.81 cuz it had bug and other.

  7. #7
    rarere's Avatar
    rarere no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    30
    I had the exact same problem during install of Os4.5 but for me the device randomly lost it's connection. I think it may be because the PC itself is a little over loaded and is unstable. Is there a way to do this to a PC that hasn't had be BB connected to it previously. I would love to be able to fix this without sending it back and being without a phone for weeks

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Lightbulb You can install a new OS without Desktop Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by rarere View Post
    I had the exact same problem during install of Os4.5 but for me the device randomly lost it's connection. I think it may be because the PC itself is a little over loaded and is unstable. Is there a way to do this to a PC that hasn't had be BB connected to it previously. I would love to be able to fix this without sending it back and being without a phone for weeks
    It is not necessary to use a desktop that has previously been connected to a BB, it is not even necessary to install Desktop Manager in order to install a new Device Operating System .... you can launch the Loader Application that is installed with the new operating system from this folder:
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader

    The only note is that you may need to install the Blackberry USB drivers in order for your device to connect if you do not wish to install the full desktop manager....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •