Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hi folks. Well I canceled the $15 PAM plan because I havent been taking my ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    curvemomma's Avatar
    curvemomma no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6

    Phone As Modem question

    Advertisement



    Hi folks. Well I canceled the $15 PAM plan because I havent been taking my laptop with me lately....the Berry has been just as useful...BUT the question I have is this:
    is there a way to use the berry with bluetooth and NOT pay for the $15 plan? I dont see why we have to pay extra. With Tmobile I didnt but of course their plan was higher. Any thoughts?
    Robin

  2. #2
    tavella81's Avatar
    tavella81 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    266
    You can always look in to Shark Modem. It's kind of expensive and only allows 5 open tcp connections at one time. The software creates a proxy on your computer and you must route all of your internet applications to use this proxy. When you want to use an ethernet/wifi connection, you then have to remove all of the proxy settings. Kind of a pain IMO.

  3. #3
    mbwilson's Avatar
    mbwilson no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    PIN/ID
    20DCCB16
    Posts
    154
    Sorry, I have not heard of a way around this that works.

  4. #4
    Medic's Avatar
    Medic no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    466
    the only way to get the device into modem mode is by the access manager software. then it dials into the network for authentication. if its now enabled on your account then it wont authorize, as far as i know there is no work around for this because it solely controlled by the carrier
    Sorrow is tranquility remembered in emotion.

  5. #5
    Brooose's Avatar
    Brooose no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    3032A20A
    Posts
    59
    I have managed to get my Sprint Curve to work with my Macbook Pro as a modem through Bluetooth without a Phone As Modem plan. I just paired it, used the SprintPCSVision modem script built into OSX and hit connect (#777, leaving the username and password blank). I did not expect it to work but it did. YMMV.

  6. #6
    gkast1's Avatar
    gkast1 no está en línea Stack level 6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    244F596F
    Posts
    2,381
    Maybe they'll look for it, maybe not.

    Back in the days of dialup I often set up connections over telephone lines that hadn't been conditioned for digital use (which would have cost more). Since a local phone call costs the same whether it lasts 10 minutes or 10 hours, everything was peachy.

    I never heard from any phone company about it

  7. #7
    Medic's Avatar
    Medic no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    Stack
    Posts
    466
    haha sneaky, but hey if can get away with it then go for it
    Sorrow is tranquility remembered in emotion.

  8. #8
    josephcaraccio's Avatar
    josephcaraccio no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    31a987a7
    Posts
    180
    Becareful when using a blackberry as a modem it might work fine but you'll be hit with a tethering fee with no notice!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •