Results 1 to 7 of 7

I have a Curve 8900 Movistar Chile, OS 4.6.1.114, DM 5.0.1. Tried to upgrade to ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    cprietok's Avatar
    cprietok no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    205497F6
    Posts
    9

    Question OS Upgrade Impossible!

    Advertisement



    I have a Curve 8900 Movistar Chile, OS 4.6.1.114, DM 5.0.1.
    Tried to upgrade to OS 4.6.1.317 Multilanguaje. I installed the .exe file, and after deleting twice the vendor.xml file within C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader I opened the Desktop Manager. I connected my device, and then it indicates there's no upgrade available, so I can't change my actual OS.

    The only options are downgrade to previous version but not to upgrade to newer versions.

    Any help is welcome!

  2. #2
    btompkins0112's Avatar
    btompkins0112 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    249
    Make sure you run the .exe file you downloaded. Then I have found that it helps to restart your computer.

    Once your computer reboots, go in and delete the vendor.xml file, then open the loader.exe file in the same folder. This is essentially the app loader without the full desktop manager application running.

    You should be good to go after that. Good luck!

  3. #3
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Try deleting the vendor.xml, disconnect from the Internet and running the update process.

  4. #4
    cprietok's Avatar
    cprietok no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    205497F6
    Posts
    9
    Thanks, i'll post my results.

  5. #5
    Jtetch's Avatar
    Jtetch no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    PIN/ID
    21931137
    Posts
    125
    Try downloading and using a program called, "Blackberry Swiss Army Knife".

  6. #6
    getsugatensho's Avatar
    getsugatensho no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,194
    There's no need for extra downloads to do an OS upgrade. Do what Modern said and you'll be fine. The new versions of DM only look at your carriers OS via internet. So when you turn off the connection, it will look on your pc and you'll be able to upgrade.

  7. #7
    SGZrazberry's Avatar
    SGZrazberry no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    488
    Downlowding BBSAK was the best thing I've ever done...I don't use the DM for anything but synching outlook. Using BBSAK is fast and simple.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •