What do I do about installed apps when I update the OS. I'm thinking of ... BlackBerry Curve forum

iridemybike no está en línea Stack Professional

OS change qestion

Advertisement

What do I do about installed apps when I update the OS. I'm thinking of changing out from the AT&T OS to the Optus OS in the next day or two and I have a bunch of other apps installed. How do I keep those or do I have to go get them all again later? Best to remove sd card before starting this whole process? I'm new to major tinkering with Blackberries so any help would be greatly appreciated.

As a secondary question: when I go to back up my info through DM it will back up everything except profiles. If I try and just do a back up, when it gets to profiles, I get an error and it stops. If I go in and manually select which items to back up it still won't back up profiles but it will back up everything else. What's going on? Using DM 4.2.2.12 w/ SP 2 and AT&T OS on my 8300.

Thanks for any help.

Tucker

EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!

Re: OS change qestion

I updated my Pearl the other day and the new DM actually backed up and restored my 3rd party apps for me (settings, registration keys and passwords included). I wonder if it's the same for any other model.

Sometimes profiles don't get backed up. Maybe a corrupt profile somewhere. I know that this last time it didn't backup or restore my BB Messenger contact list (I'm beginning to think it doesn't like to do that because I have a huge contact list LOL).

Dream Rider no está en línea Stack level 3

I let app loader do the backup and it backed up my 3rd party apps and restored them went it was done with the install of the new OS. I have done this 3-4 times now without problems after my initial experience.
    As far as your profiles do you have a custom made one? I have altered existing ones and haven't had any difficulties, so I wondering if you created a profile that is giving you problems.