Results 1 to 12 of 12

Hi everybody, Since I'd changed my BB with the new Curve 8310 no names appear ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    viomobil's Avatar
    viomobil no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    7

    No name on the screen on the incoming calls

    Advertisement



    Hi everybody,

    Since I'd changed my BB with the new Curve 8310 no names appear on my display when I receive a call (from an address book contact). sometimes the names appear (I set up also different ringtones for contacts) but I'm still not sure if this is caused by the holster or by the locking procedure. I'd read some posts that referred to an operating system bug (on symbian devices) which doesn't allow to a contact name to be displayed if there are more than 1 entries for the same number in the address book but this is not my case. In the past I'd never experienced such problem with my old BBs (7290 and 8700) and using the same address book. Is this a Curve bug or did I miss something?

    10x

  2. #2
    stuart B's Avatar
    stuart B no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    256c5822
    Posts
    407

    Re: No name on the screen on the incoming calls

    i know that if your blackberry is locked then only the number will come up

    just a thought

  3. #3
    viomobil's Avatar
    viomobil no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    7

    Re: No name on the screen on the incoming calls

    Quote Originally Posted by stuart B View Post
    i know that if your blackberry is locked then only the number will come up

    just a thought
    i'd thought so but on the old BBs i didn't experience this problem, even if i locked it or carried it in the holster. 10x anyway.

  4. #4
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: No name on the screen on the incoming calls

    Have you tried your Smart Dialing Options?

    Call Button(Green Phone)>Menu(left of trackball)>Options>Smart Dialing.

    Adjust your Country Code, and National Number Length. I see that you're with Vodafone so once those are set correctly it should work.

    Let us know how it goes.

  5. #5
    malik88's Avatar
    malik88 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3

    Re: No name on the screen on the incoming calls

    Quote Originally Posted by stuart B View Post
    i know that if your blackberry is locked then only the number will come up

    just a thought

    Is there any way to get around this problem?

    It is really annoying that I often have to say: "Hello?" instead of "Hi Charles, it's been a long time!" when I answer the phone....

    it's really hard to remember those numbers...

    I mean; if this has been done with security in mind..to prevent showing who's calling..: all I would have to do in order find out who ringing, is ...pick up the phone

  6. #6
    viomobil's Avatar
    viomobil no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    7

    Re: No name on the screen on the incoming calls

    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187 View Post
    Have you tried your Smart Dialing Options?

    Call Button(Green Phone)>Menu(left of trackball)>Options>Smart Dialing.

    Adjust your Country Code, and National Number Length. I see that you're with Vodafone so once those are set correctly it should work.

    Let us know how it goes.
    i'd tried with this in the past but nothing happened...well, it's working only if my phone it's unlocked...is it possible that having the numbers already in my address book with the country code in front of it could cause this? i set up the country code to "unknown" and the national number length to "0" but still no name on my screen...

  7. #7
    OzzieDog's Avatar
    OzzieDog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    179

    Re: No name on the screen on the incoming calls

    If your phone is locked and "Content Protection" is enabled to "include address book" = Yes. Then the only thing that shows is the number calling. If you want to disable the option for address book, click
    Option,
    Security Options
    General Settings
    "Include Address Book=NO"
    Save,
    Hope this helps.

  8. #8
    viomobil's Avatar
    viomobil no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    7

    Re: No name on the screen on the incoming calls

    Quote Originally Posted by OzzieDog View Post
    If your phone is locked and "Content Protection" is enabled to "include address book" = Yes. Then the only thing that shows is the number calling. If you want to disable the option for address book, click
    Option,
    Security Options
    General Settings
    "Include Address Book=NO"
    Save,
    Hope this helps.
    wow ...i'm finally happy 10x a lot OzzieDog
    tc
    Last edited by viomobil; 01-07-2008 at 11:10 AM. Reason: misspelled my rescuer's name

  9. #9
    charrell's Avatar
    charrell no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    240820C4
    Posts
    36

    Re: No name on the screen on the incoming calls

    Are all you Phone #'s listed with the area Code and then number?
    I know with some carriers if that area code is not there you will not get any contact info...
    "Give me Liberty but I much rather have my Blackberry 8100"







    charrell

  10. #10
    viomobil's Avatar
    viomobil no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    7

    Re: No name on the screen on the incoming calls

    Quote Originally Posted by charrell View Post
    Are all you Phone #'s listed with the area Code and then number?
    I know with some carriers if that area code is not there you will not get any contact info...
    ozziedog gave me the solution.
    here in romania we have a different structure for mobile numbers and when we dial one (mobile or not) we use the whole number, not only the network number. maybe abroad it's the same, i don't know, but that's why i prefer to have the whole number in my address book (incl. the country code, area code or else) and not to use this kind of feature with smart dialing (i saw it in the past in my options but i let it by default)
    and to answer you, no, it depends...sometimes i receive the number as it is in my address book or only the number in the carrier format (that's why sometimes a have different records in my dialing list, with the same name, but this is a different thread).

    ...i forgot to thank reddog for disabling the smart dialing

    have a nice day everybody and thanks again for your support.
    Last edited by viomobil; 01-07-2008 at 11:49 AM. Reason: forgot to thank

  11. #11
    malik88's Avatar
    malik88 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3

    Re: No name on the screen on the incoming calls

    Quote Originally Posted by OzzieDog View Post
    If your phone is locked and "Content Protection" is enabled to "include address book" = Yes. Then the only thing that shows is the number calling. If you want to disable the option for address book, click
    Option,
    Security Options
    General Settings
    "Include Address Book=NO"
    Save,
    Hope this helps.
    I guess I'm kind of new here and posted this to the wrong group, as I have a 8700g.

    the solution you gave does not work in the 8700g, but it seemed very logical.

    Guess what I found out: the 8700g will give you the name of the caller, (if the caller is in the contact list) if and only if the caller is one of the last 20 persons you called yourself.

    now; how stupido is that?

    I hope someone got a solution to this. If so I would be very happy. I've been spoiled by my phones telling me who's calling over the last few years and this is like going back in time

  12. #12
    viomobil's Avatar
    viomobil no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    7

    Re: No name on the screen on the incoming calls

    Quote Originally Posted by malik88 View Post
    Guess what I found out: the 8700g will give you the name of the caller, (if the caller is in the contact list) if and only if the caller is one of the last 20 persons you called yourself.
    i didn't experience such problems with my 8700v, that's why i was so angry when this problem appear on my new 8310. i'll make some test with the old one...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •