Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 32

I use ny mms on uma too with no problems ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #16
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242

    Advertisement



    I use ny mms on uma too with no problems
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  2. #17
    angelzrage's Avatar
    angelzrage no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    84
    Cool. I do know that a friend of mine had a wifi device with sprint.and was never able to send a pic while on wifi.then again sprint still uses their picmail system :b .
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #18
    bglawrence's Avatar
    bglawrence no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2746CB17
    Posts
    312
    Cowboy is actually correct if and only if those using wifi are doing so without a valid Sim card in the phone. Thats when UMA wont send the MMS. Can only send MMS with a sim card. funny thing is the mobile network doesnt even have to be turned on...just a valid SIM in BB. Pretty weird but so cool how the UMA calls work too over wifi even when the mobile network is actually turned off.

  4. #19
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    I am curious about something. To all the folks that have an issue with sending pics over wi-fi, are you able to get on the internet while on wi-fi only? For those that don't have a data plan, you should still be able to get onto T-Zones.

    Zo

  5. #20
    bglawrence's Avatar
    bglawrence no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2746CB17
    Posts
    312
    or I should say cant send MMS over wifi vs UMA. UMA will only connect if there is SIM card

  6. #21
    bglawrence's Avatar
    bglawrence no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2746CB17
    Posts
    312
    if you wanna send pics over wifi (not UMA) and doent have UMA then why not just send email via wifi rather than MMS?

  7. #22
    Hidr0's Avatar
    Hidr0 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    PIN/ID
    24B31E66
    Posts
    11
    Pics or didnt happened!

  8. #23
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    I was sure last night and now I am cornfused!
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  9. #24
    Dabbill's Avatar
    Dabbill no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    24ADC49A
    Posts
    90
    I was able to send pics and recieve pics via UMA last week. I cant test it right now I dont have access to wifi right now. I was at my GF's parents house on vacation last week.

  10. #25
    drew4flt72's Avatar
    drew4flt72 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    520
    Quote Originally Posted by angelzrage View Post
    Cool. I do know that a friend of mine had a wifi device with sprint.and was never able to send a pic while on wifi.then again sprint still uses their picmail system :b .
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    To my knowledge Sprint still doesn't have MMS support working on their devices. What year is this by the way...??
    Nokia N900 32GB [Unlocked]
    ----------------------------------------
    OS: Maemo 5 (Debian Linux)
    Version: [PR 1.3] 20.2010.36-2

    Flash Memory: A-Data 16GB SDHC CL6-Turbo
    Overclocked @1Ghz

  11. #26
    tom_vachon's Avatar
    tom_vachon no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AE3FA5
    Posts
    75
    I have found if you set SMS/MMS to prefer "packet switched" over "circuit switched" it seems to be more reliable.

  12. #27
    TheBigNewt's Avatar
    TheBigNewt no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    402
    Quote Originally Posted by bglawrence View Post
    Cowboy is actually correct if and only if those using wifi are doing so without a valid Sim card in the phone. Thats when UMA wont send the MMS. Can only send MMS with a sim card. funny thing is the mobile network doesnt even have to be turned on...just a valid SIM in BB. Pretty weird but so cool how the UMA calls work too over wifi even when the mobile network is actually turned off.
    That's cause the mobile network is turned on with UMA. It's just connecting via a different bunch of gear (WiFi and the pc's router/cable connection etc) instead of "OTA" as we've always called it. Think of it as Mobile Network UMA.
    BB Pearl, Seidio rubberized case.

  13. #28
    s4berry's Avatar
    s4berry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    256
    So, if I don't have a text plan, but I do have a data plan, and I can connect via UMA through my personal wifi router, will I get charged tmob's 0.20 per MMS over UMA still? SMS works the same way?

    Edit: Re-reading BigNewts post above, it might mean the text message is still going thru tmob's network, so have to assume I'd still get charged? Anyone can confirm?

    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Last edited by s4berry; 03-24-2009 at 02:22 AM.

  14. #29
    TheBigNewt's Avatar
    TheBigNewt no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    402
    Yes, you'll get charged via UMA. There is a way to beat the sms/txt charge using data but I forget the deal to use it. Basically you use a free 3rd party service and their phone number. I can't get you any closer than that.
    BB Pearl, Seidio rubberized case.

  15. #30
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    Quote Originally Posted by s4berry View Post
    So, if I don't have a text plan, but I do have a data plan, and I can connect via UMA through my personal wifi router, will I get charged tmob's 0.20 per MMS over UMA still? SMS works the same way?

    Edit: Re-reading BigNewts post above, it might mean the text message is still going thru tmob's network, so have to assume I'd still get charged? Anyone can confirm?

    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Yes, you should still be charged for the message since it will still be routed through the messaging server. Sending it as an email will avoid that charge since it won't be an MMS/SMS coming from your phone even though it will come in to the recieving party that way depending on the service they have.

    Zo

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •