Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hey guys, Great Forum! I am new to the BB and I have a quick ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Jailbird1818's Avatar
    Jailbird1818 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3

    New to BB and here, quick Curve/Pearl question

    Advertisement



    Hey guys, Great Forum! I am new to the BB and I have a quick question.

    I have a BB Pearl on Sprint and I like it. I am traveling to Europe and I need a phone that works there so I signed up with AT&T and got a Curve to give it a try. I have 30 days to return it If I don't like it.

    My question is simple, on the Pearl when web browsing, the trackball controlls a pointer just like a mouse. The Curve doesn't. Is there any way to have the Curve do this? My firmware version is 4.2

    Thanks for any help!

    -Brian
    Last edited by Jailbird1818; 05-16-2008 at 08:07 PM. Reason: spelling

  2. #2
    Don LuiG's Avatar
    Don LuiG no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    649
    what version of the software are you using on the pearl??
    also the software version out there for the curve that has that option is not officially out yet

  3. #3
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    Try Opera Mini. 3rd party browser that is good.

    mini.opera.com

  4. #4
    VETT98's Avatar
    VETT98 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    friends
    Posts
    261
    no the att 8310 can not have browser like a mouse,not 4.2 out of the box. use att untill you get back and return it,edge is little too slow. i have both my kids have 8310 edge,and wife and i have EVDO,u know how fast.hope this helps
    Last edited by VETT98; 05-16-2008 at 08:30 PM.
    Mike

  5. #5
    stuart B's Avatar
    stuart B no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    256c5822
    Posts
    407
    Don't mind me saying but what makes you think that the pearl in Europe ? Ok I'm from the uk but have travelled around Europe with no network problems. According to my provider I would no problems in the states.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    nova609's Avatar
    nova609 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    108
    go to your browser and open a site, then click menu and go up to "desktop view", that will give you the cursor that you can move around on screen, but you will really have to scroll because everything will not be compressed to fit on screen like it does in "mobile view"....hope this helps

  7. #7
    Jailbird1818's Avatar
    Jailbird1818 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks for all of the replys! I've been using AT&T for a bit and I think I will stay with Sprint. I really like the full keyboard of the Curve so I might take a look at the 8330 when I get back.

    For now i'll give the opera mini a try.

    -stuart B, in the US there are different network types. My Pearl is on Sprint so it is a CDMA network. Europe uses a GSM network so I had to get a GSM phone from AT&T. Kind of a pain but at least I get to give the Curve a try.

    Thanks again for all of the help!

    -Brian

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •