Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 78

Anyone notice that the same "latest versions" (all the same number, certainly) are different sizes? ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #46
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    Advertisement



    Anyone notice that the same "latest versions" (all the same number, certainly) are different sizes? I wonder if they have different themes inside? maybe the larger one from Telcel has a cool theme the others don't...???

  2. #47
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    OK...too tired to do this tonight...but I'm downloading the Telcel version. It's also rel 265, apps 4.2.2.146, platform 2.4.0.62. But this one is 4 MB bigger. Hoping I'll see something extra in here, like maybe an extra theme?

    Getting late now for installing, tho. Alarm going off at 6am, kids to school, work to do (why don't they pay me to work on THIS stuff???). Ah well... will finish the download of Telcel tonight -- already have the Smartone-Vodafone download done, so I'll have both. Will revisit in the morning if there's time before work.

    Good luck to all who try this -- and thanks again to the pioneers on the thread here!!!

  3. #48
    turbo6shooter's Avatar
    turbo6shooter no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    I loaded Voda Egypt, browser works, but no map icon anymore. Any ideas on how to get it back?

  4. #49
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    Quote Originally Posted by turbo6shooter
    I loaded Voda Egypt, browser works, but no map icon anymore. Any ideas on how to get it back?
    Maybe you can go to blackberry.com and download the BB Maps application? See:
    http://www.blackberry.com/devicesoft...y.do?code=maps

  5. #50
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    Quote Originally Posted by toymachinejg
    i was wondering were you wer at flash haha
    LOL, I already sold my curve to get the 8320. So I can no longer try, this

    Darn, they came out with a new service right after I sold my 8300 hahah

  6. #51
    toymachinejg's Avatar
    toymachinejg no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    24232f19
    Posts
    309

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    haha

  7. #52
    kasperapd's Avatar
    kasperapd no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    172

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    This is great news!
    Link to competitor websites and other Blackberry forums is prohibited.

  8. #53
    johnnywhojr's Avatar
    johnnywhojr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    206B9510
    Posts
    72

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    Quote Originally Posted by melissaox
    Here is the thread with the 8300 OS Links if you need it:
    http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...are_links.html
    Thanks for the update. I kept asking cause I am currently using an 8310 and the OS is 4.2.2.163 and there is no handheld code for it. it really sucks cause if I want to install a theme, I can only do it through OTA. The app loader in the DM says that there are no updates for my device currently.
    JohhnyWhoJr

    "Proud owner of the 8110"

  9. #54
    dif2175509's Avatar
    dif2175509 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    24

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    Yup, it's there on the Stock AT&T OS. I now have a Browser ICON.

  10. #55
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    I'm sure a lot of tmo curve owners are jumping for joy right now

  11. #56
    c3po25's Avatar
    c3po25 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    212D4E69
    Posts
    323

    Thumbs up Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    Quote Originally Posted by flash24
    I'm sure a lot of tmo curve owners are jumping for joy right now

    you know it!!


  12. #57
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    It was so nice today - knowing I had a new OS
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  13. #58
    mitch_martin's Avatar
    mitch_martin no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    Finding this post made my day. It drove me crazy not being able to run the latest and greatest OS.

  14. #59
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    Finally got to finish this tonight -- was making me nuts, since I downloaded the OS last night. I thought I'd try out the TelCel version, and it worked just fine...at least in the end... Not sure what others experienced, but here's my experience:

    - connected my Curve to my PC, ran DM and did a full backup
    - manually backed up all my media off the phone - just in case! (wasn't necessary in the end)
    - shut down DM
    - uninstalled the O2 OS from my PC
    - installed the TelCel OS on the PC
    - deleted Vendor.alx
    - checked each and every "alx" for "vendorID", and changed all references to "102" (since my BB was originally from AT&T)
    - one exception to above: for the reference to the "push to talk" app, I set vendor to "123" so it wouldn't load
    - also changed the item that excluded LBS (location based services) from AT&T phones (vendorID 102): I suspect this is the item that would have prevented me from seeing BB Maps: I changed it to allow vendorID 102

    All ready, I fired up DM again. It recognized the upgraded firmware, and I went through the install. Took a while! (all the java stuff).

    After it was complete, I still had no browser. I checked the host routing tables, and found the list empty - but I was still able to hit the menu button and "register" -- received the registration confirmation from TMo, the HRT entries and the new TMo service books -- including the browser! (yippee!).

    I did some more poking around, and noticed that the TCP settings were wrong once again: they were pointing to AT&T's WAP gateway, so I had to fix them to wap.voicestream.com with no username and no password. (if you haven't checked that yet, you might want to!).

    That's it. Seems like it's all there, working perfectly now!

    BTW: I noticed that this TelCel version of the OS, despite being same version as Voda, is something like 4MB bigger. I tried it to see if I got anything extra with it (always looking for more!), like maybe an extra theme?

    I don't remember having two Vodafone themes before, but I have two now (maybe I had both and forgot? not sure...). Anyway, along with all the other unlocked vendor themes, I also have the Vodafone Today them (in green), and a white version (just called Vodafone Today). I know I've seen both mentioned on the forum over the last few weeks - just don't remember the context. Sorry if this is old news!

    Anyway -- I'm now a VERY happy camper! Great to have my Curve and TMo happily in sync now!

  15. #60
    luckyducky's Avatar
    luckyducky no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    l
    Posts
    38

    Re: new service book!! for 8300 on tmobile

    Hi- this seems very exciting could somebody pls post simple instruction how I can upgrade. My tmo os too? 8300

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •