Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst 12345678910 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 161

hmm...weird I thought it was funny I couldn't recieve or send MMS...probably shoulda just re-sent ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #61
    GBallew's Avatar
    GBallew no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2404b3a8
    Posts
    1,488

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    Advertisement



    hmm...weird

    I thought it was funny I couldn't recieve or send MMS...probably shoulda just re-sent the service books but I was too lazy. Got them right away with this one.
    Cingular is now the new at&t

  2. #62
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    Ok instead of basically calling me and the others who couldn't fix the alx file issue, how about You explain HOW to do it?

    All i got was the verizon theme. i know You have to unlock the themes, however vista won't let me save the file once i alter it. Anyone else with vista having this issue?

  3. #63
    melissaox's Avatar
    melissaox no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,344

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    **shakes head** And why do people want Vista?

    You can't save a file once you alter it!?!?!?

    Can you rename it? I usually change my orginal one to blackberry.old and then open it up and save it as the correct name and go to town on it...
    Success is not final, Failure is not fatal, it is the courage to continue that matters.
    My Blog , My Flickr

  4. #64
    cizake's Avatar
    cizake no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    241C3C5B
    Posts
    76

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    Downloading as we speak...I am on TMob so feedback shortly...
    my Blog
    my Company

    Florian SEROUSSI

  5. #65
    cizake's Avatar
    cizake no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    241C3C5B
    Posts
    76

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    Lost T-zones, no browser. Fastest OS I've seen.

    Trying to send Service book to device.

    I will let you know.
    my Blog
    my Company

    Florian SEROUSSI

  6. #66
    cizake's Avatar
    cizake no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    241C3C5B
    Posts
    76

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    I cannot get T-zones on this OS. Does anyone know which files are uses to register HRT? I am thinking that if we could replace files use to register HRT by O2 we could find a nice turnaround to service book issue.
    my Blog
    my Company

    Florian SEROUSSI

  7. #67
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    Quote Originally Posted by cizake
    I cannot get T-zones on this OS. Does anyone know which files are uses to register HRT? I am thinking that if we could replace files use to register HRT by O2 we could find a nice turnaround to service book issue.
    Even though I was using the O2 OS, I was stuck at one point without the two t-mobile browsers, despite following all the directions. Unless my memory is totally wrong, I believe that what did the trick for me then was the following:
    - on the T-Mobile BIS page, I deleted my three email entries
    - re-added the three email entries
    - and THEN re-sent the service books

    In 20+ years of writing and working with software, I've seen many situations in which some kind of data change like this is necessary (due to sloppy programming) before an intended action takes place - usually because a data flag of some sort isn't reset properly until this happens.

    I was trying lots of things at that point when trying to get my Curve working properly - so it's certainly possible that's not it. But dropping and re-adding email accounts (and then re-sending service books) on the BIS page is far quicker and easier than reinstalling a new OS copy, and can't hurt.

    If you haven't dropped the new OS yet, you might consider giving this a try...

  8. #68
    cizake's Avatar
    cizake no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    241C3C5B
    Posts
    76

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    I have been thru this since 4.2.2.89 so it has been a while.

    My only solution at that point is to find the right file to replace with 02 version.

    I am thinking specification.pkg might be the problem...

    Still looking - if you have more details feel free to comment,
    my Blog
    my Company

    Florian SEROUSSI

  9. #69
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    Quote Originally Posted by cizake
    I cannot get T-zones on this OS. Does anyone know which files are uses to register HRT? I am thinking that if we could replace files use to register HRT by O2 we could find a nice turnaround to service book issue.
    I just did a quick file search from the \loader files\ subdir down for anything with "HRT" in it, and unfortunately the search came back pointing to 31 binary files (rim8300g.sfi and 30 ".cod" files). Not sure where we go from there, unless somebody has access to deeper technical architecture / software manuals for the platform.

  10. #70
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    I just tried one more search: for files containing the string "t-zones", and came up with a single file:

    under this subdir:

    c:\program files\common files\research in motion\shared\loader files\8300-v4.2.2.67_P2_4.0.29\java\

    file name:

    net_rim_bb_sbinjector_lib.cod

    Possibility?

  11. #71
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    ...as a matter of fact, even looking at the file in Notepad, although most of it is unreadable binary, there's a LOT that is readable, and it all appears to relate to WAP APN's for various carriers, and there are references to "WAP Transport Service book"...

  12. #72
    cizake's Avatar
    cizake no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    241C3C5B
    Posts
    76

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    I have to wipe my 8300. Everything got bugged.

    I will start again using your results.
    my Blog
    my Company

    Florian SEROUSSI

  13. #73
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    Quote Originally Posted by cizake
    I have to wipe my 8300. Everything got bugged.

    I will start again using your results.
    Ah! You have more patience than I do this morning. Sunny and nice - have to go out for a while. Will come back into "the cave" and play with the blackberry again after my family goes back to sleep (that way nobody gets mad).

    Will be interesting to try swapping in that one file from the O2 version, mixed in with all the other software / COD files from the latest vodafone version (or another recent one).

    Good luck!

  14. #74
    abdo's Avatar
    abdo no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    hi, please.

    I have one BB 8300, AT&T this possible update software Vodafone ?

    What this help ?

    My BB is unlock.


    Thanks


    Abdo

  15. #75
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: new curve OS from vodafone v4.2.2.265/4.2.2.146

    Quote Originally Posted by vinmontRD
    Ah! You have more patience than I do this morning. Sunny and nice - have to go out for a while. Will come back into "the cave" and play with the blackberry again after my family goes back to sleep (that way nobody gets mad).

    Will be interesting to try swapping in that one file from the O2 version, mixed in with all the other software / COD files from the latest vodafone version (or another recent one).

    Good luck!
    I wonder if the DM would notice the change in the COD file itself, or if it needs to see a different ALX that points to the COD in order to offer replacing the file on the BB?

    Point is: if this works, it might turn out to be a quick update of a single file for those who already have the new OS installed...

Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst 12345678910 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •