Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36

Was browsing AT&T's site last night and saw that they have a new version of ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    asloren1's Avatar
    asloren1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6

    New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    Advertisement



    Was browsing AT&T's site last night and saw that they have a new version of the 8300 OS posted:

    Can't post the URL here, but go to AT&T site and go to support area. Click on Blackberry Software Downloads link

    ----------------------
    Here are the specs:

    BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.2.2.301 (Multilanguage)

    Package Version: 4.2.2.301
    Consisting of:
    • Applications: 4.2.2.166
    • Software Platform: 2.4.0.73
    • File name: 8300M_PBr4.2.2_rel301_PL2.4.0.73_A4.2.2.166_AT&T.e xe
    • File size: 78.1MB
    Note: The Software Platform and Applications version numbers can be found under Options-About screen on the handheld.

    ---------------------------

    The Previous version was v4.2.2.186 (Applications v4.2.2.89)
    Installed it last night (note: took a long time to reboot, but it could have been related to my signal strength - which was low - and the units need to re-register on the network).

    So far have not noticed any real changes, although it seems a bit peppier overall.

    I'll report back if I notice anything different.

  2. #2
    iridemybike's Avatar
    iridemybike no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    495

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    Finally! Sheesh!

    Good find.

    Tucker

  3. #3
    audit's Avatar
    audit no está en línea BES Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    241

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    You act like it's 4.3 or something. I'm loading it now to see what the differences are.
    audit
    -
    Want to be the one of first people to know about RIM outages? Visit http://www.dataoutages.com


  4. #4
    asloren1's Avatar
    asloren1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    I've scanned through most of the apps on my BB and see no appreciable change to anything.

    Given the realtively minor version # change, I suspect it was mostly minor changes under the hood.


    we likely won't see any major viewable changes until 4.3

  5. #5
    mgabel24's Avatar
    mgabel24 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    I'll stick with the Singapore OS for now! It's still .173 and .76. Is this still the highest OS out?

  6. #6
    jeepjn911's Avatar
    jeepjn911 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    241122F3
    Posts
    2

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    Has anyone else done this upgrade and lost their BB Messenger, To Do List and Memo icons?

  7. #7
    iridemybike's Avatar
    iridemybike no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    495

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    Were you using a theme other than the ATT theme?

    Tucker

  8. #8
    audit's Avatar
    audit no está en línea BES Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    241

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    I upgraded mine and everything's working just fine.
    audit
    -
    Want to be the one of first people to know about RIM outages? Visit http://www.dataoutages.com


  9. #9
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    I lost google maps after the install. Haven't noticed anything else missing so far.

  10. #10
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    I'm going to skip this, I'm already on the singapore OS which is a higher version.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #11
    asloren1's Avatar
    asloren1 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    I did have one relatively minor issue after install last night...

    I did try to install BB Maps app this time round in place of google maps.

    I also have been using the awesome bPhone theme.

    After upgrade, everything looked OK, except I could not locate the BB maps app (yes, I looked to see if it was hidden). Also, and this was wierd, any apps I had in a folder, were not accessible of visible anymore.

    To solve this, I tried to go to a different theme and then back to the bPhone theme......No Change.

    I then went in the Applications screen under Options and deleted the BB Maps application.
    That fixed the problem.

    So, guess I'll be using Google maps again instead.

  12. #12
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    Quote Originally Posted by jeepjn911
    Has anyone else done this upgrade and lost their BB Messenger, To Do List and Memo icons?
    Go back to app loader, make sure that those items are checked (box checked) and re-run wizard.

  13. #13
    audit's Avatar
    audit no está en línea BES Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    241

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    Tried to unlock the tmobile zen themes and it borked my curve. So I'm reloading it back with .89 now. I won't be upgrading the OS until either 4.3 comes out or I get the 8310.
    audit
    -
    Want to be the one of first people to know about RIM outages? Visit http://www.dataoutages.com


  14. #14
    mwo2616's Avatar
    mwo2616 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    My 8310 came loaded with this latest os!

  15. #15
    iridemybike's Avatar
    iridemybike no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    495

    Re: New AT&T OS for Curve 8300 Posted

    Quote Originally Posted by asloren1
    I did have one relatively minor issue after install last night...

    I did try to install BB Maps app this time round in place of google maps.

    I also have been using the awesome bPhone theme.

    After upgrade, everything looked OK, except I could not locate the BB maps app (yes, I looked to see if it was hidden). Also, and this was wierd, any apps I had in a folder, were not accessible of visible anymore.

    To solve this, I tried to go to a different theme and then back to the bPhone theme......No Change.

    I then went in the Applications screen under Options and deleted the BB Maps application.
    That fixed the problem.

    So, guess I'll be using Google maps again instead.
    If you run into that problem again, switch back to the ATT theme, do a battery pull, then switch back to your theme. The same thing happened to me after an OS upgrade(everything in my applications folder disappeared). You just have to mess with it for a few minutes, after they come back then you don't have to mess with it anymore.

    Tucker

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •