Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 65

Oh its no problem at all! You do not need the original OS all you ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #46
    LunkHead's Avatar
    LunkHead no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    142

    Advertisement



    Oh its no problem at all!

    You do not need the original OS all you need is your copy of 4.5...

    You can PM me and I will give you my pin and we will get you through this if you want..

    Kris

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  2. #47
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    thanks kris let me try this first

  3. #48
    LunkHead's Avatar
    LunkHead no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    142
    No problem... Post back any issues / questions.. I am on mobile version now but will check back and see how its going... Don't sweat it, we will get you up and running without the policy

    Kris

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #49
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    You are in good hands, sir!

  5. #50
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    thanks guys-I just deleted my old DTM, am going to look on my PC for any policy.bin files that are left and delete thos, the I DL the new 4.5 DTM right?

  6. #51
    LunkHead's Avatar
    LunkHead no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    142
    You can yes, or download the most recent DM available from your carrier.. Just make sure the policy file is gone!

    Kris

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #52
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    thats what I dont understand, why delete a DTM and then reinstall it? Will I have to fo into C/prog files/common files/research in motion after I install the new one. I just went there and there was no policy.bin file rim folder was empty. Im PM ing you

  8. #53
    LunkHead's Avatar
    LunkHead no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    142
    Working it out via phone.... *hope* he good-2-go shortly

    Kris

  9. #54
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    chris I'm sure you'll get him all setup you've never posted me in the wrong direction
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  10. #55
    LunkHead's Avatar
    LunkHead no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    142
    We can only hope!

    Awaiting the call back to move to next step...

    Hope it didn't catch fire and burn up! If it did then I deny posting in this thread :razz:

    Kris

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  11. #56
    LunkHead's Avatar
    LunkHead no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    142
    Quote Originally Posted by chokem View Post
    thanks guys-I just deleted my old DTM, am going to look on my PC for any policy.bin files that are left and delete thos, the I DL the new 4.5 DTM right?
    Time for bed sir... 0430 comes early... I sent you 2 emails (one with the remove policy download file and the other with detailed instructions. I will post the instructions here for you as well... Once you download the policy file I sent follow this to the T and you will be a-ok..

    *paste from email I sent you*

    Once you download the previous file I sent you and have downloaded it to the location specified, follow these instructions:

    Wipe the device, creating a backup if necessary. Select Options >> Security Options >> General Settings and hit the menu key.. Then select Wipe HandHeld.

    The device will reboot. While it is rebooting....

    Close the Desktop Manager if it is open.

    After it boots back up.... (Desktop Manager still CLOSED)

    From the Windows Start Menu select Run..., and at the prompt type: regedit. After this you will see a tree... In the tree on the left hand side, navigate to:

    HKEY_Current_Users\Software\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\PolicyManager

    Right-Click the Policy Manager Folder and select New/String Value. Name the value Path. Now, Double-Click the Path Subkey and set Value Data to:

    C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\policy.bin

    Open the Desktop Manager.

    Connect the Device.

    Verification
    Once complete, the Options/Security screen on your Blackberry should not contain references to an IT Policy, you should now be able to change all settings (including password prompts), and install Third Party Applications.

    */end of paste*

    I will check back in the AM and see if you have any issues!!!

    Kris
    Last edited by LunkHead; 09-06-2008 at 11:52 PM.

  12. #57
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    OK, that worked, no more references to the IT policy are in the security general settings. But now I still have the 4.5.0.55 on my phone. Do I need to wipe it now with the JL_Cmnder and reinstall the 4.5 or am I good to go?

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    LESS
    Posts
    1,757
    You should be able to go. Now just try and load the theme files and apps.

  14. #59
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    The internal wipe hardly removes anything. To remove the IT policy it will probably require a complete wipe.... JL_CMDER is probably your only hope.
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

  15. #60
    LunkHead's Avatar
    LunkHead no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    142
    Quote Originally Posted by chokem View Post
    OK, that worked, no more references to the IT policy are in the security general settings. But now I still have the 4.5.0.55 on my phone. Do I need to wipe it now with the JL_Cmnder and reinstall the 4.5 or am I good to go?
    Awesome!!!!!!!!

    No need to wipe it again just download 4.5 OS again and install it on the PC... Remember to remove the vendor file!



    Kris
    Last edited by LunkHead; 09-07-2008 at 07:16 AM.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •