Results 1 to 15 of 15

Just got a new 8310 and I took my SIM out of my old phone ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Montano's Avatar
    Montano no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    'my number' is incorrect, any fix ?

    Advertisement



    Just got a new 8310 and I took my SIM out of my old phone and popped into the BB. Everything is working great except the 'my number' shows an 18 digit number. The first 11 digits are my number but I have no idea where the remaining 7 digits come from.

    I have tried the remedy that worked for most people:
    Options>Advanced>SIM Card>Edit SIM Phone Number

    But it doesn't stick

    Anyone have another suggestion ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995

    Re: 'my number' is incorrect, any fix ?

    Did you go to the BIS website and change your bb PIN from one phone to another? How about doing that first and then yanking out the battery?

  3. #3
    Montano's Avatar
    Montano no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Re: 'my number' is incorrect, any fix ?

    I'm one of those BB users without a BB plan. I did yank the battery, to no avail.

  4. #4
    vod332's Avatar
    vod332 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    24AA5605
    Posts
    81

    Re: 'my number' is incorrect, any fix ?

    Go again to the wrench icon (settings), then to advanced options, then to sim card.

    Highlight the area that says phone number, click on the menu button, and edit Sim phone number. Type in your proper phone number and press enter.

    It will write the phone number to the Sim (you should see it say it is writing to the sim card). Make sure you re-register your phone through the host routing table. Also, make sure you reboot.


    Tell me if this works.

  5. #5
    myberrysrblack's Avatar
    myberrysrblack no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    135

    Re: 'my number' is incorrect, any fix ?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ dunno what the prob could be. But anybody have any clue why the "hide my #" feature doesn't work? Not the one to block your # if u call someone but to not see your # when you make calls?

  6. #6
    Montano's Avatar
    Montano no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Re: 'my number' is incorrect, any fix ?

    How do I re-register the phone ? Host routing table shows 'no entries'.

    As I mentioned, I have tried editing the SIM number many times. It shows writing but reverts to the old numbers, even after removing the battery.
    Last edited by Montano; 03-06-2008 at 09:22 PM.

  7. #7
    Kyo0tdemon's Avatar
    Kyo0tdemon no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    995

    Re: 'my number' is incorrect, any fix ?

    To register your host routing, go to Options>Advanced Options>Host Routing Table>BB button>Register Now. You could also run a Diagnostics on your bb to have it reregister everything, inclusive of emails. To do that, go to OptionsSecurity Options>Mobile Network>Bb Button>Diagnostics Test>BB Button>Run. That's how to re-register the phone.

  8. #8
    Montano's Avatar
    Montano no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Re: 'my number' is incorrect, any fix ?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Still showing 18 digits for 'my number'

  9. #9
    peterthill's Avatar
    peterthill no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    281860C8
    Posts
    733
    Quote Originally Posted by myberrysrblack View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ dunno what the prob could be. But anybody have any clue why the "hide my #" feature doesn't work? Not the one to block your # if u call someone but to not see your # when you make calls?
    Yep, as you wrote the hind my number option will only hide your number from display. If you want to don't send your number you have to set the restrict my identity thing

    HTH
    Peter

  10. #10
    peterthill's Avatar
    peterthill no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    281860C8
    Posts
    733
    Quote Originally Posted by Montano View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Still showing 18 digits for 'my number'
    Is the number correct if you make a call or ist the 'wrong' number send?

    Perhaps the SIM is defect? Try another SIM (from a friend or someone) and see if this number is shown right. Also (if you have the possibility) try your SIM in another phone and see if the number is also 'wrong'

    HTH
    Peter

  11. #11
    Murfunit's Avatar
    Murfunit no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    40

    Re: 'my number' is incorrect, any fix ?

    BB plan or not maybe call your carrier and have them register the IMEI and CCID for you so that they match?
    Je t'aime encore, Roguette

  12. #12
    Montano's Avatar
    Montano no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5

    Re: 'my number' is incorrect, any fix ?

    Thanks for all the suggestions. A more bothersome problem is making me return my Curve for a new one. Every incoming call I try to answer via my bluetooth headset would cause the phone to reboot.

    So we will see if the new Curve has the same 'my number' issues ??

  13. #13
    myberrysrblack's Avatar
    myberrysrblack no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    135

    Re: 'my number' is incorrect, any fix ?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ this might be because you maybe using a sim that was initially registered with a non BB. My GF's BB does the same thing and this is the only thing I could have thought of. Although her phone does show the correct # when my sim is in

  14. #14
    pegb856's Avatar
    pegb856 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    A Colata
    Posts
    264
    Just for the record, he has no BB plan and therefore he cannot register on the Host Routing Table.

  15. #15
    myberrysrblack's Avatar
    myberrysrblack no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    135
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~the hide my # option doesn't even work. I still see my # when I make calls

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •