Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 39

I just want to thank everyone here at Pinstack for all their hard work! Without ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    jsfortner's Avatar
    jsfortner no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    56

    My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    Advertisement



    I just want to thank everyone here at Pinstack for all their hard work! Without this forum I would be totally clueless when it come to my BB! With that being said I want to let everyone know I have got my 6GB SDHC card to work. I am not for sure if this is the way everyone else has got theres to work but this is how I got mine to work:

    I formatted my card in the phone (bad idea) and it only showed 2 GB. I noticed some other people had the same problem. I did some reading on the fourm and came across an SDHC formatter that allowed me to get my 6GB back. At first I could not get my 6GB card to format because I didn't have a SDHC card reader. I ended up buying one on eBay which solved my problem. After I formatted my 6GB card in my SDHC card reader I labeled my SDHC card "BLACKBERRY." I then created a folder on the card named "BlackBerry" and inside that folder made 4 more folders (muisc, pictures, ringtones, and videos). Then I took a video I converted with CloneDVD Mobile and loaded it to my SDHC card using my new card reader, then all I did was pop the card into my BB CURVE! It worked!!

    Thanks again Pinstack for all of your help! Hope this thread can help someone having the same problem or are not sure if they want to get a 6GB SDHC card!

  2. #2
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    thanks for the info!

  3. #3
    jsfortner's Avatar
    jsfortner no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    56

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    It's the least I could do!

  4. #4
    TheRiddler's Avatar
    TheRiddler no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,450

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    Thank you for the information. After you formatted it this way how much space do you see on the card? I believe I have read others that have a certain size card but do not see the full capacity of the card in their BB. I am trying to determine if I am going to order a 4gb or a 6gb card and your post is a great help.

  5. #5
    jsfortner's Avatar
    jsfortner no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    56

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    5.68GB is what shows on mine.

  6. #6
    Spamdumpster's Avatar
    Spamdumpster no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    2423c9c5
    Posts
    234

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    How's the speed?

  7. #7
    jsfortner's Avatar
    jsfortner no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    56

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    Not too bad actually. I can't tell a difference between my old 1GB and my new 6GB

  8. #8
    rabbott's Avatar
    rabbott no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    46

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    Nice! I am curious if you have loaded more than 4GB of data on the card, are you able to access it all without issues?

  9. #9
    Karpfish24's Avatar
    Karpfish24 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    243fd52f
    Posts
    217

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~sweet. If I used my BLACKBERRY as a music player I would certainly try this, but I have multiple iPods so I don't listen to music on my curve. I don't watch video either, but maybe I should?

  10. #10
    jonnyxedge's Avatar
    jonnyxedge no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    28A4ED28
    Posts
    3,945

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    thats awesome news thanks a lot!!!!
    The BlackBerry Guru

    [x] My Minds Eye - Life Behind The Lens Of A BlackBerry
    [x] Pinstack Blog
    [x] Twitter

  11. #11
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    Thank you, I shall try this if I decided to get the 6gb for my curve

  12. #12
    jsfortner's Avatar
    jsfortner no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    56

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    Quote Originally Posted by rabbott
    Nice! I am curious if you have loaded more than 4GB of data on the card, are you able to access it all without issues?
    I did run into a problem when I added more than 4GB of data. Everything I added after the 4GB will not play. hmmm... I guess I didn't get my 6GB card to fully work. Sorry guys/gals

  13. #13
    dolphinrich's Avatar
    dolphinrich no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    3048e0cb
    Posts
    179

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    I had the same issue with the 6gb card in my 8830. It formatted at 2gb.

    I received the Pearl 8130 recently, and took the card, and reformatted it in the pearl, and got my 6gb back.

    I then put the card back into my 8830, and it reads at 6gb. However, when I copy data to it, I get errors when I get up to 2gb of data on the card. (This with with Blackberry connected to Laptop, using Mass Storage) I have to remove data, to add more data. Cant go above 2gb for some reason, although my 4gb card works great.

    So, for now the 6gb stays in the Pearl, and the 8830 remains at 4gb.

    Waiting for 4.3 on the 8830, which is supposed to resolve it, according to RIM.

    We shall see.

  14. #14
    ChrisMc73's Avatar
    ChrisMc73 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    103

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    Does anyone have links to where RIM is discussing the new OS and these issues with memory cards?

  15. #15
    magellan0547's Avatar
    magellan0547 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E7D27
    Posts
    770

    Re: My 6GB card and how I got it to work

    you could always just e-mail them about it chrisMc73...as for 6gb cards working probably not until they do another OS update seeing as how 6GB and 8GB just hit the market

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •