Results 1 to 11 of 11

hello i was just wondering if anyone had any problems with mass storage when connecting ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    mariuspiatek's Avatar
    mariuspiatek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    17

    microsd problems.

    Advertisement



    hello
    i was just wondering if anyone had any problems with mass storage when connecting to mac or pc, doesn't matter which one i guess.

    i used to have a curve 8300 i believe it was from Rogers, and when i connected it to my mac, it would mount it on my desktop. now i have 8300 from Tim Brazil, same device so it would not matter, with the same microsd as before, and it does not mount it. my mass storage is on, and i have formated the card.
    any idea what could be wrong? seems like device is working properly when in bb, but will not mount when connecting to pc/mac
    i am running 4.2.2.173 with 2.4.0.76 platform.

    thank you

  2. #2
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: microsd problems.

    what size card are you using? if you take it out of the phone and use a card reader, does the computer recognize it? just trying to narrow things down ...

  3. #3
    mariuspiatek's Avatar
    mariuspiatek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: microsd problems.

    hmm i was using 512MB sandisk.
    i don't have a card reader so i cannot check, but the card worked with previous bb.
    i will try to find some device that takes microsd cards and see if it works.
    altho i have two cards, 128 and 512 and they both are recognized in the unit, but not when connected to computer.
    i am 100% sure they work.


    edit:
    i am downloading desktop software with media manager to see if media manager will work with it.

  4. #4
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: microsd problems.

    let us know how it goes and if you need more help.

  5. #5
    mariuspiatek's Avatar
    mariuspiatek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: microsd problems.

    Hmmm
    Media Manager is the worst crap ever. LOL
    Anywho, i am getting some C++ Runtime error when trying to run it. Horrible. it is useless anyways i suppose since the microsd should mount.
    Any other ideas what could be the problem with reading the card?

  6. #6
    mariuspiatek's Avatar
    mariuspiatek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: microsd problems.

    ok so i just took one of my pearls and put the media cards in them,connected to mac, everything works.
    but how come it will not work from the curve ? is it possible it has some sort of lock not to use media cards?

  7. #7
    mariuspiatek's Avatar
    mariuspiatek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: microsd problems.

    So it seems like the blackberry is recognized in the Media Manager.
    But will not mount without it.
    =(

  8. #8
    cyberspastic's Avatar
    cyberspastic no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,247

    Re: microsd problems.

    that's just strange . . .

  9. #9
    mariuspiatek's Avatar
    mariuspiatek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: microsd problems.

    Hmm ok i just realized that in media manager it shows device memory, not media card.
    So it doesn't find the card in the curve.

    =(

  10. #10
    miclflores's Avatar
    miclflores no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    30

    Re: microsd problems.

    It's either a problem with the phone or my laptop. I have 2gb card in, but when I connect my Curve to the laptop and enable the mass storage and it says that it is connected, I cannot get access to the media card. It does not show up as a removable drive nor does it work with the media manager. When I hook it up to other computers it shows up as a removable drive. I have no idea what to do about it. With my Pearl it would only work with the old media manager not the Roxio, but it never showed up as a removable drive on my laptop, only other computers. Also, the card works with the each device and in card readers, so it's not the problem. Curve 8320, OS 4.2.2.180, Desktop Manager 4.2.2.14 w/ Roxio

  11. #11
    mariuspiatek's Avatar
    mariuspiatek no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: microsd problems.

    Hmm i think we might have a phone problems. where did you get your bb ? and is it unlocked or did you get it from your provider ?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •