Results 1 to 11 of 11

When my BB Curve was recharged last night, I found it rebooting. I see the ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Teuton's Avatar
    Teuton no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    2431C260
    Posts
    22

    Memory Rape / Rebooting

    Advertisement



    When my BB Curve was recharged last night, I found it rebooting. I see the hourglass on white screen and it disappears with red LED on before shutdown. The rebooting continues every 10 secs.

    I tried to search for solutions here. Removing memory card and pulling the battery out didn't help. I called T-Mobile and was given instructions in the email. They said it was likely a memory issue that I downloaded many 3rd party apps and kept many emails up to 2 mos. There was no full memory warning. Instructions tell me to use Application Loader to erase all software off the handheld and re-install 4.2 OS. It could be done only if the handheld stops rebooting for few minutes.

    Instructions from T-Mobile go like this:
    Go to Application Loader.
    When "Communication Port Selection" appears, connect the handheld to the computer with battery out.
    When exact "USB-PIN" is selected, move on Next or Finish.
    When the loading operation arrives at "Wait for Device Initialization", re-insert the battery.
    The process is supposed to complete, but the handheld still reboots interrupting the process.

    It could be a simple troubleshooting or I can access my Curve to remove more 3rd party apps and delete older emails and more. How can I stop the rebooting temporarily? I'll make second call to T-Mobile soon. As a last resort, I hope it is under warranty to be shipped for repairs.


  2. #2
    Amigotek's Avatar
    Amigotek no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    21D7B3C6
    Posts
    1,569
    What you can try is connecting it without the battery installed to start the process with DM and connect the battery when it tries to reconnect the phone after you tell it to start.

    If you can't get it to stop rebooting, you may have to do a wipe through jlcommander. As long as the computer will see it, you should be able to wipe it in that ten second window you have.

    Zo

  3. #3
    Teuton's Avatar
    Teuton no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    2431C260
    Posts
    22
    Pls tell me how to work with jlcommander I never used before.


  4. #4
    GeneKam's Avatar
    GeneKam no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    232D8D38
    Posts
    756
    its pretty simple, just follow what it says, i mainly use wipe feature, just press numbers according to chart, things like that scare alot of people as they are dos based, but this one is really easy to use.
    "Drive by tornado-kicking, boy, i wish i could see that" - Yaku
    "Yeah! It was epic" - Gene

  5. #5
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Teuton

    There is a link to Lava girls tutorial on JL_Cmder including download info in my blog (cklick below)
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  6. #6
    Teuton's Avatar
    Teuton no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    2431C260
    Posts
    22
    It is only good for wiping. The handheld still reboots frequently so I couldn't re-install OS.

    The exchange is on the way.


  7. #7
    monnie101's Avatar
    monnie101 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1
    This happens to me sometimes too. The hourglass just comes on and keeps rotating and I can't use the phone. I called support and they had me take out the battery and then the sim card and clean the sim card and put it back in. It was working fine for a week and then did it again. Sometimes shutting down and rebooting helps. I still don't know what the issue is. I figured it was a firmwear bug.

  8. #8
    nealpolshuk's Avatar
    nealpolshuk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    95
    Quote Originally Posted by Teuton View Post
    When my BB Curve was recharged last night, I found it rebooting. I see the hourglass on white screen and it disappears with red LED on before shutdown. The rebooting continues every 10 secs....
    I had this same problem and it turned out to be caused by the wireless network of the guy bext door. I solved it by walking down the street and turning off the WIFI on my phone. Later, I got the guy next door a new router and updated his old PCMCIA Wifi card and the problem went away.

  9. #9
    rozzy9's Avatar
    rozzy9 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    242
    Stupid question... but if I did what was listed in the first post... how would I upload those programs back to my Curve?

  10. #10
    Dansnov1086's Avatar
    Dansnov1086 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    245FEDBE
    Posts
    73
    Guys, sounds like a memory leak problem. The Curve I have had given me some major headaches until I finally figured out the problem. If you go to options > Status and look at your free files, it should be a multi digit number. You'll run into those hour glass problems when that free file number goes down. I found out the hard way when I took a bunch of pictures in Cooperstown and saved them all on the device, had no memory card at the time. The next few days I had an hourglass that would not go away. I finally learned from reading a few forums that it's a memory problem, I went in and looked at my free files and It was ZERO. Not good. Moved all my photos over to memory card and problem was solved. One thing you can do to prevent this is to delete prior messages, I do that almost nightly. When You can see yesterdays messages under yesterdays date in your message list, thats when I do it. I also went in and deleted apps I don't use. Such as Google talk and Yahoo Messenger. Hope this helps!
    PIN 245FEDBE
    AIM Dansnov1086

    Dan

  11. #11
    Teuton's Avatar
    Teuton no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    2431C260
    Posts
    22
    Got third Curve costing me $10. The second one that replaced my original was refurbished. I didn't appreciate that when my original was brand new 5 weeks ago.

    Anyway this "memory leak" issue is serious. I'd rather fix it myself following instructions to restore since exchanging under warranty is usually for replacing parts or software glitch. I hope the new OS 4.5 will solve it.


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •