Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Oh dear....had the phone for 4 days now. Very nice interface, superfasrt and friendly but ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    BB_5000's Avatar
    BB_5000 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    25

    Memory Leaks on Javelin? Again!

    Advertisement



    Oh dear....had the phone for 4 days now.

    Very nice interface, superfasrt and friendly but I've noticed that horrible memory leak issue that we experienced with the Curve is back again.

    Darn it, how can this still be going on!?


    When I pull the battery:


    File free is approx 115mb


    After a solid couple of hours of usage it sinks to 102mb

  2. #2
    VR's Avatar
    VR
    VR no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    215
    Yeah anything over 100mb free is something to call in the national guard for
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  3. #3
    eazid's Avatar
    eazid no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    560
    Turn on your memory cleaner and you'll not see that bad of a leak I'm sure. At least it has more memory. Nothing huge.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    BB_5000's Avatar
    BB_5000 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    25
    I clean it regularly with the cleaner, no luck.


    It's really pathetic how Rim still hasn't fixed this long standing issue.


    Incidentally, I'm on OS 4.6.1.101

    I wont bother with any OS upgrades, that didn't make a little bit of difference on the curve.

  5. #5
    eazid's Avatar
    eazid no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    560
    Oh well. :-/

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  6. #6
    lovin2act's Avatar
    lovin2act no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    796
    Okaaay. How is that a bad memory leak? I live with 10-11 mb free on my curve after a reset, and 3-4 mb after a day or two and i would be completely stoked to be in your shoes. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    mizmellyjelly's Avatar
    mizmellyjelly no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    316
    Weird...I've only had that problem ONCE with my old curve. Haven't experienced it with the 8900....hopefully I never will. *fingers crossed*
    ..miz melly jelly™..
    Carrier: Rogers
    Device: rooted HTC Inspire 4G
    ROM: Virtuous Unity v1.27.0 with Sense 3

    TwitterGoogle+

  8. #8
    babybluetx23's Avatar
    babybluetx23 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6
    I have the 8830 world edition and I have had this issue since MAY! They are about to send me another phone. Just for grins I monitored it for about 45 mins today just to see how bad the leak is:

    Rebooted Phone
    3,354,584 12:20p
    2,634,428 12:24pm
    2,806,728 12:24pm
    2,758,916 12:29pm
    2,872,608 - 12:31pm - shut down yahoo IM
    1,835,992 - 12:34pm
    1,846,760 - 12:38pm
    Rebooted phone
    3,961,976 - 12:43pm

    I dont have any pictures or MP3s or backgrounds or ringtones stored on my phone. it is all on the memory card which I pulled before I watched the memory dwindle down to nothing. the only third part app i have installed on my 8830 is Yahoo IM which you will see by my log I shut down and still had an issue.
    Verizon is sending me a new phone finally. THANK GOD!

  9. #9
    archer6's Avatar
    archer6 no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by babybluetx23 View Post
    I have the 8830 world edition and I have had this issue since MAY! Verizon is sending me a new phone finally. THANK GOD!
    Great post, very useful. I'm looking forward to an updated report after you've had a chance to use your replacement for a while.

    Good Luck
    Cheers...


  10. #10
    BB_5000's Avatar
    BB_5000 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    25
    Left it on now for another solid day since this last post.


    89 and ticking lower....

    Note, no 3rd party apps are installed and no Mobile browsing.....

  11. #11
    bajanbastard's Avatar
    bajanbastard no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    510
    My Pearl on 4.5.102 would only have 12-15MB free yet ran like a champ, my curve with the same OS had 18-25MB free no problems at all. I'm collecting my 8900 tomorrow and IMHO 100MB free is nothing to complain about.

  12. #12
    TheBigNewt's Avatar
    TheBigNewt no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    402
    My wife never pulled the battery on her pearl (1.5 years) or Curve (5 months now). I've snuck peeks at her memory and they are the same as mine. They get to a certain level and stay there, sometimes go up. Go figure.
    BB Pearl, Seidio rubberized case.

  13. #13
    CaCHooKa Man's Avatar
    CaCHooKa Man no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    416
    going from 115 to 102 MB doesnt sound that bad to me. try going from 21 to 9 and having to do a soft reset every day just so you can surf the web without getting an "out of memory" error.

  14. #14
    uberspeed's Avatar
    uberspeed no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    24aa4e29
    Posts
    154
    It would be nice to know where the 13MB went though. I see the OP's point.

  15. #15
    BB_5000's Avatar
    BB_5000 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    25
    It's not the point of losing a couple of Mb's, it the point of why - still - this issue prevails....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •