Results 1 to 7 of 7

I didn't see this one so I'll ask. All of a sudden my 8310 running ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    slickman's Avatar
    slickman no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4

    media not playing on download

    Advertisement



    I didn't see this one so I'll ask. All of a sudden my 8310 running 4.2.2.170 won't play an mp3 download. It tries to open my BB internet browser instead of media player and says the format is unsupported. It used to be ok and I can't figure out how to fix it. I have to download and save the file then open it directly thru media player. Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    You might want to go here http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...ad.php?t=42263 and get the latest OS for your device. If you reload the OS onto your device that might just fix your issue. Here's a brief tutorial on how to do this:

    1) AFTER YOU HAVE DOWNLOADED AND INSTALLED THE LATEST OS, go here and delete the vendor.xml file: C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader. Click on the file (once) and hit the delete key and choose yes
    2) attach device to PC with USB cable (this assumes you have the Desktop Manager installed)
    3) open Desktop Manager and it should recognize that you have a new OS and prompt you to install it
    4) click yes to automatically back up files
    5) click next until the wizard is running.

    Should take about a 1/2 hour or so to reload. Let us know if you have any questions.

    Roger

  3. #3
    slickman's Avatar
    slickman no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for the info. Unless anyone else has another plan, I'll just wait for OS 4.5 later this month.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Looks like you don't have to wait as Vodafone has released a 4.5 version.

    http://www.vodafone.de/hilfe-support...ry/116285.html

  5. #5
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Did you try a battery pull or reset to see if that doesn't fix the problem?

  6. #6
    slickman's Avatar
    slickman no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4
    Yes to both. I know about the vodafone OS and I think I'll wait for the official ATT release just to be safe. Thanks again for your advice.
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Sorry we couldn't be of more assistance!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •