Results 1 to 15 of 15

Hey guys, I wanted to throw this out there for discussion. I made an interesting ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516

    Question Making UMA/Wi-Fi calls through cable company ISP

    Advertisement



    Hey guys,

    I wanted to throw this out there for discussion. I made an interesting discovery last night. When I was at my girlfriend's house, I suddenly found myself using wi-fi to make my outgoing calls. She DOES NOT have T-Mo (nor H@H for that matter)!!!

    She does have a wireless router hooked up to a cable internet modem and her house uses phone service provided by the Cable Company (Cablevision). Has anyone else encountered this?
    ---
    R. Foster (2 Timothy 2:15)

  2. #2
    crazy_cajun's Avatar
    crazy_cajun no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    31b6fa46
    Posts
    169
    yeah i use it everyday. just because someone does not have hotspot@home does not mean you cannot use wifi to make phone calls over it
    any wifi that you can access will let you make phone calls
    Einstein's theory of relativity. Grab hold of a hot pan, a second can seem like an hour. Put your hands on a hot woman, an hour can seem like a second. It's all relative.

  3. #3
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516
    Quote Originally Posted by crazy_cajun View Post
    yeah i use it everyday. just because someone does not have hotspot@home does not mean you cannot use wifi to make phone calls over it
    any wifi that you can access will let you make phone calls
    Ok...awesome...another question:

    Does it keep your mobile minutes from being zapped when you are connected via Wi-Fi? I would assume so...but maybe I'm wrong, LOL.
    ---
    R. Foster (2 Timothy 2:15)

  4. #4
    crazy_cajun's Avatar
    crazy_cajun no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    31b6fa46
    Posts
    169
    well that depends on if you have the hotspot@home service.....
    if so then yes you save wireless minutes by calling over wifi,
    HOWEVER if you are a FLEXPAY customer , you are getting shafted by tmobile and they do not offer this minute saving feature to you...
    if your on flexpay i would advise calling tmobile and complaining about the fact that you cannot use the hotspot@home minute saving feature....


    reguardless of whether you have the hotspot@home feature or not you can still use the UMA CALLING which is what wifi calls are called UMA. just if you dont have Hotspot@home you dont save your minutes.....understand or did i make you more confused???

    ohhh btw if you are paying for the hotspot@home service IT DOES NOT MATTER WHERE YOU CONNECT TO WIFI YOU STILL SAVE MINUTES!!!! it can be anyones wifi anywhere just as long as the UMA symbol is showing on your phone.....as long as thats there your saving your minutes
    Last edited by crazy_cajun; 06-20-2008 at 12:02 PM.
    Einstein's theory of relativity. Grab hold of a hot pan, a second can seem like an hour. Put your hands on a hot woman, an hour can seem like a second. It's all relative.

  5. #5
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516
    Quote Originally Posted by crazy_cajun View Post
    well that depends on if you have the hotspot@home service.....
    if so then yes you save wireless minutes by calling over wifi,
    HOWEVER if you are a FLEXPAY customer , you are getting shafted by tmobile and they do not offer this minute saving feature to you...
    if your on flexpay i would advise calling tmobile and complaining about the fact that you cannot use the hotspot@home minute saving feature....


    reguardless of whether you have the hotspot@home feature or not you can still use the UMA CALLING which is what wifi calls are called UMA. just if you dont have Hotspot@home you dont save your minutes.....understand or did i make you more confused???

    ohhh btw if you are paying for the hotspot@home service IT DOES NOT MATTER WHERE YOU CONNECT TO WIFI YOU STILL SAVE MINUTES!!!! it can be anyones wifi anywhere just as long as the UMA symbol is showing on your phone.....as long as thats there your saving your minutes

    Thanks a million...that was quite understandable to me...I think I will call 611 and make a fuss over that. I been their customer for 7 years, lol...

    I don't have either, so i will look into H@H and see if it's something that will benefit me and save me money in the long run. Thanks so much crazy_cajun!!!
    ---
    R. Foster (2 Timothy 2:15)

  6. #6
    nealpolshuk's Avatar
    nealpolshuk no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    95
    Quote Originally Posted by ryfoster View Post
    Hey guys,

    I wanted to throw this out there for discussion. I made an interesting discovery last night. When I was at my girlfriend's house, I suddenly found myself using wi-fi to make my outgoing calls. She DOES NOT have T-Mo (nor H@H for that matter)!!!

    She does have a wireless router hooked up to a cable internet modem and her house uses phone service provided by the Cable Company (Cablevision). Has anyone else encountered this?
    Indeed, you can connect to any wireless router and make calls over UMA. It is accessed my your bberry over the internet. How it gets to the internet doesn't matter. I began using my bberry all of the time because of this. Through my hotspot@home and through our company wireless network at work.

  7. #7
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516
    awesome!
    ---
    R. Foster (2 Timothy 2:15)

  8. #8
    magellan0547's Avatar
    magellan0547 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E7D27
    Posts
    770
    also if you do a lot of traveling; especially out of the country, you can use the UMA and it won't cost international rates (as of yet) but you must have H@H on your TMo account in order to not get charged for your minutes...i have H@H and it's a god-send...any place i go i try and search for wi-fi and add that hotspot to my wi-fi bank so that any time i am back in that area i get free calls no matter what day or time...i use it at work, my house, and my friends' houses...god bless TMo ...hope this helps

  9. #9
    Hyper's Avatar
    Hyper no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    24FDAA1C
    Posts
    51
    has anyone tried this in Mumbai, India. Or this wont work at all...

    Basically i am travelling out of India this weekend and wanted to know if i can make cheap calls over VOIP (WiFi) or maybe even free calls back home/office which i am there.
    -----------------------------------------
    New systems generate new problems !!!

  10. #10
    ryfoster's Avatar
    ryfoster no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    516
    Quote Originally Posted by magellan0547 View Post
    also if you do a lot of traveling; especially out of the country, you can use the UMA and it won't cost international rates (as of yet) but you must have H@H on your TMo account in order to not get charged for your minutes...i have H@H and it's a god-send...any place i go i try and search for wi-fi and add that hotspot to my wi-fi bank so that any time i am back in that area i get free calls no matter what day or time...i use it at work, my house, and my friends' houses...god bless TMo ...hope this helps

    How much extra are you currently paying for the H@H service with T-Mo?
    ---
    R. Foster (2 Timothy 2:15)

  11. #11
    magellan0547's Avatar
    magellan0547 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E7D27
    Posts
    770
    $10 per line but totally worth it as almost evrywhere I spend more than an hour or two I can find an open wi-fi signal to use
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    H @ H also works in Starbucks (automatically)...I was walking past one at a shopping center last week and went to make a call and saw I was on a UMA signal.

    I agree - I am sold on the UMA and the H @ H service! Well worth the $10 to me!
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  13. #13
    magellan0547's Avatar
    magellan0547 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    242E7D27
    Posts
    770
    i heard somewhere that Starbucks was dropping TMo and switching over to some other cellular network...but i could be mistaken...anyone else heard anything...don't mean to hijack the thread

  14. #14
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by magellan0547 View Post
    i heard somewhere that Starbucks was dropping TMo and switching over to some other cellular network...but i could be mistaken...anyone else heard anything...don't mean to hijack the thread
    Yes. I heard that too. T-mobile still has a lot of wi-fi sites - don't know who all they are but Kinko's is one.

    BTW, I use UMA all the time too and I can't get H@H because I'm a pre-pay customer to avoid a contract.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  15. #15
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Starbucks is switching to AT&T but as I recall there is a muti year deal in place to honor T Mobile connections...we shall see...
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •