Results 1 to 9 of 9

All, I just received an 8320 yesterday. My previous BB was an 8700. I love ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    spattson's Avatar
    spattson no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    locking screen on 8320

    Advertisement



    All,

    I just received an 8320 yesterday. My previous BB was an 8700. I love the 8320 but am missing my old keyboard short of ALT and ENTER to lock the display. When i do ALT + ENTER on the 8320 i receive a message:

    "Current input method changed to ENGLISH (UNITED KINGDOM) using the Alt-Enter shortuct"

    I have 2 possible answers to that prompt -

    "Do not show this message again" or "Do not allow this shortcut"

    I have just been hitting escape at that point. Anyone know the shortcut to "lock" on the 8320?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    c3po25's Avatar
    c3po25 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    212D4E69
    Posts
    323

    Re: locking screen on 8320

    do you have it set to dial from home screen?? if you don't then you can hit "K" and that should lock your screen for you

    Quote Originally Posted by spattson
    All,

    I just received an 8320 yesterday. My previous BB was an 8700. I love the 8320 but am missing my old keyboard short of ALT and ENTER to lock the display. When i do ALT + ENTER on the 8320 i receive a message:

    "Current input method changed to ENGLISH (UNITED KINGDOM) using the Alt-Enter shortuct"

    I have 2 possible answers to that prompt -

    "Do not show this message again" or "Do not allow this shortcut"

    I have just been hitting escape at that point. Anyone know the shortcut to "lock" on the 8320?

    Thanks!
    btw, how did you get a 8320 already?? is today the day they come out??
    Last edited by c3po25; 09-19-2007 at 12:07 PM. Reason: Automerged.


  3. #3
    spattson's Avatar
    spattson no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: locking screen on 8320

    i do have a few speed dials setup... is that the same as dial from home screen?

    i attended a T-mobile/BlackBerry launch event in NYC yesterday and everyone who attended was given an 8320 upon exit... : )

    i was hoping for a titanium one but it was the one with the gold finish...

    so far so good... the part i really wanted to see was how well it handed off between WiFi and cell once a call was established on WiFi... so i initiated a call in my house... then started walking down the street... switched over the the EDGE network seamlessly... nice....

  4. #4
    c3po25's Avatar
    c3po25 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    212D4E69
    Posts
    323

    Re: locking screen on 8320

    Quote Originally Posted by spattson
    i do have a few speed dials setup... is that the same as dial from home screen?

    i attended a T-mobile/BlackBerry launch event in NYC yesterday and everyone who attended was given an 8320 upon exit... : )

    i was hoping for a titanium one but it was the one with the gold finish...

    so far so good... the part i really wanted to see was how well it handed off between WiFi and cell once a call was established on WiFi... so i initiated a call in my house... then started walking down the street... switched over the the EDGE network seamlessly... nice....
    man, that's nice, how did you get to attend one?? I need to be going to those event so I can get a new phone...lol, no having speed dial is not the same as having dial from home. go to your call screen and hit menu to go to options and then you can see whether you have that set for dial from home or not


  5. #5
    Eloquence's Avatar
    Eloquence no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    45

    Re: locking screen on 8320

    Wish I could hit up the event in D.C tomorrow! I would love me some Titanium coloured Curve free goodness!

  6. #6
    spattson's Avatar
    spattson no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: locking screen on 8320

    the events are invite only and i'm not really certain what the criteria is.... the company i work for has lots of blackberrys on the T-mobile network...

    back to my shortcut issue... i found the call from home and it was set to "yes"... i changed it to "no" but still no lock shortcut... "k" didn't work... and alt-enter still doesn't work...

    shortcoming of being in on the early 8320 wagon ; )

    btw... from what they told us at the event.. the 8320 will be available starting on 9/24...

  7. #7
    c3po25's Avatar
    c3po25 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    212D4E69
    Posts
    323

    Re: locking screen on 8320

    huh, "k" has worked for most of the BB's that I have owned...that's strange, battery pull maybe?? does any of your other shortcut keys work?? such as F for profile, M to complese message, N for bb Messenger, B for browser, Etc??


  8. #8
    spattson's Avatar
    spattson no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: locking screen on 8320

    check my previous comments... i swore i saved when i left the general options menu the last time but i must not have...

    i double-checked and call from home was still "yes"... so i made it "no"...

    the shortcuts now work... "k" locks.. "n" messenger... "f" profile.... "m" for messages...

    thanks!!!

  9. #9
    c3po25's Avatar
    c3po25 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    212D4E69
    Posts
    323

    Re: locking screen on 8320

    Quote Originally Posted by spattson
    check my previous comments... i swore i saved when i left the general options menu the last time but i must not have...

    i double-checked and call from home was still "yes"... so i made it "no"...

    the shortcuts now work... "k" locks.. "n" messenger... "f" profile.... "m" for messages...

    thanks!!!
    read your previous post and it said that it "didn't work" so I guess it didn't save. Anyway, glad to hear that it's working for you now. If you have any more questions feel free to pin me. have fun with the 8320


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •