Results 1 to 13 of 13

I have an issue where an individual has two phones; one of which being her ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Nedric7's Avatar
    Nedric7 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    19

    Question Let me get them digits!

    Advertisement



    I have an issue where an individual has two phones; one of which being her BlackBerry curve 8330. The BlackBerry is her work phone, and the other one is just personal.

    This person broke the screen on their personal phone; and was told by an employee at the Verizon store that her BlackBerry has a firewall on it; preventing them from transferring her Contacts from her personal phone to her BlackBerry.

    Might any of you have some knowledge of this issue. OR, is it an error at the Verizon store between the Keyboard and the Chair? The same guy also said that music could not be uploaded to the phone because of the same firewall issue.

    Thank you very much.
    Last edited by Nedric7; 10-20-2008 at 10:36 AM.

  2. #2
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    It is quite probable that there is an IT policy that restricts transfer of info to or from the 8330 if it is a company provided work phone.
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  3. #3
    supamansimon's Avatar
    supamansimon no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    304feb1f
    Posts
    257
    Yeah that might be the case. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  4. #4
    04Taco's Avatar
    04Taco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    113
    At Sprint, We have a device called Cellbrite that can copy contacts from any phone to any phone, including BBs. This is how I transferred all of my contact info when I upgraded to my 8330. I have never seen any issues with transferring data to or from a BB, whether they were on a BES or not. Might want to try another store and see if you get the same answer.

  5. #5
    aalqadaffi's Avatar
    aalqadaffi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    31B21B7B
    Posts
    4
    I've also never seen that problem. I work at Verizon and we use the Cellebrite machine as well. It tells you how to deal with a phone that is on BES when you start the transfer. What you were told sounds a bit dubious. I'd go to another store and try again.
    BlackBerry 8830, BlackBerry 8130, BlackBerry 8330
    Nokia N71
    getatthekid.com
    myspace.com/ohsocute

  6. #6
    dubie76's Avatar
    dubie76 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    Ask
    Posts
    358
    If the personal phone is also a blackberry why not just backup and transfer data via DM?
    Sprint Tour 9630
    OS 5.0.0.230 (Leaked)

  7. #7
    04Taco's Avatar
    04Taco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    113
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~i don't think DM has any way of copying data from a non BB phone.

  8. #8
    prettyhnic23's Avatar
    prettyhnic23 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    13
    The rep/tech might be right . If its a work phone and under BES it might have a password in order for you to transfer files contacts etc. Now if she knows the password she can tell the rep/tech to input that in so you can do the transfer .

  9. #9
    04Taco's Avatar
    04Taco no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    113
    I just tried to backup my data using the cellbrite. My phone is a work phone on a BES. I was able to copy the information from my BB to an SD card for backup. I had no issues connecting to the BB. The only thing you may need to know is that the cellbrite tool loads a client software on your device and it needs to be started on the BB for the data to be captured and written.

  10. #10
    Nedric7's Avatar
    Nedric7 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    19
    The individual i was speaking of just called me from her second Verizon store, and they gave her the same message. The BlackBerry was stopping the transfer of her contacts from her personal phone to her blackberry due to a "firewall" and requested a password.

    She has a password to unlock the phone- that didn't work

    there was the password we used to active the enterprise-that didn't work

    there was also the password we use to ID our accout with Verizon- that too didnt work.

    I am not sure where this said password would come from ?

  11. #11
    RickNY's Avatar
    RickNY no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Nedric7 View Post
    She has a password to unlock the phone- that didn't work

    Is she using what she thinks is a numeric password to unlock the phone? If so, it likely isnt numeric (unless she puts numlock on or holds the ALT key during entry of every digit) -- my guess is Cellbrite is seeking the alphabetical unlock code, same as DM would do -- i.e. if she thinks her unlock code is '1234', the password is 'wers'

  12. #12
    rjs87's Avatar
    rjs87 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    337
    I'm not to familar with BES but could it be a password she would have to get from the BES admin?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    Charlie Hustle's Avatar
    Charlie Hustle no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    skdck
    Posts
    537
    She might have to old school and keep the number in the black book. Or just get a personal pearl..

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •