Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 131

As much as I want 4.3, there's no question that it was worth doing the ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #61
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    Advertisement



    As much as I want 4.3, there's no question that it was worth doing the intermediate upgrade.

  2. #62
    smis's Avatar
    smis no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    OU812
    Posts
    160

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    how can we see the latest os out there, do you have a link?

  3. #63
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    Quote Originally Posted by smis
    how can we see the latest os out there, do you have a link?
    Aside from the occasional "master list" that gets posted on a forum like this, there's no official list of vendors, phone models and available versions. Instead, I go to blackberry.com, and check each and every link -

    1) Go to the following page:
    http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support...load_sites.jsp

    2) click a link (I open in a separate window, so I can just close it when done without having to reopen the master page)

    3) see if your device is on the list (I, personally, look for 8300) -- if so, click the link. On the next screen you'll see the downloads available (generally one or two are offered), and the version numbers associated with each one. Takes a lot of clicking, but you once you get the routine down, you can cruise through the list pretty quickly.

    This is how I found the Singapore Telecom version that started this thread -- and considering the improvement in responsiveness, it was worth the effort for me!

  4. #64
    eileenjoy's Avatar
    eileenjoy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    240633A7
    Posts
    31

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    bcbbanga4l: My Curve is actually more stable with this upgrade. You could wait for the 4.3 or upgrade--totally up to you.

    But it says you have the 8320...you really shouldn't use this upgrade.
    Last edited by eileenjoy; 09-28-2007 at 10:41 AM.

  5. #65
    aergern's Avatar
    aergern no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    137

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    Quote Originally Posted by PacificDude8
    I have an 8320 [T-Mobile]. Why shouldn't I try loading the new OS'?
    Because this is platform 2.4.x.x and your 8320 is platform 2.5.x.x .. you will lose functionality and could possibly brick your phone. The two devices that run the same OS are the 8310 and 8320. If the OS release says it's for one of those two then you're safe no matter the carrier.
    --
    Faith is the truth of passion.
    Since no passion is more true than another,
    faith is the truth of nothing.

  6. #66
    Blukrystlz's Avatar
    Blukrystlz no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Askme4it
    Posts
    5,250

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    that really bites!
    ~Blu~




    Blukrystlz@pinstack.com


  7. #67
    Dream Rider's Avatar
    Dream Rider no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    174

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    Seems snappier to me, no hour glass lags as before. Media card access is faster.
    If you're going to dream - Dream Large!

  8. #68
    DonGato's Avatar
    DonGato no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    244

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    Some questions about this...

    Can this release be applied to any provider?
    This release has Spanish language files?
    Is there any posts with step by step information about a firmware update?
    Are settings, data and applications left unaltered after an update?
    What other considerations a firmware update has (reduced memory, possibility of bricking the Curve, etc)

  9. #69
    Dream Rider's Avatar
    Dream Rider no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    174

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    Quote Originally Posted by DonGato
    Some questions about this...

    1. Can this release be applied to any provider?
    2. This release has Spanish language files?
    3. Is there any posts with step by step information about a firmware update?
    3. Are settings, data and applications left unaltered after an update?
    4. What other considerations a firmware update has (reduced memory, possibility of bricking the Curve, etc)
    1. YES
    2. Not sure, can't remember.
    3. http://www.pinstack.com/blackberryfo...rade_your.html
    4. General improvements in memory mgmt, and speed, ie less lag time along with other improvements over original OS that came with the device. If you do brick the phone there are instruction for recovery. Been there done that.
    If you're going to dream - Dream Large!

  10. #70
    shakuyi's Avatar
    shakuyi no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2425A121
    Posts
    204

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    who wants 4.3? why dont we ask for 5.0????? oh well we can keep dreaming lol were just one step closer to 4.3 guys

  11. #71
    mcookyconsp's Avatar
    mcookyconsp no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    73

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    it does run faster. and voice quality is better.

  12. #72
    DonGato's Avatar
    DonGato no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    244

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    Well, I did it. All my third party apps that weren't loaded with the Desktop software or OTA were wiped, I had to reload them and configure them again. The customization of the user defined entries in the address book was lost, had to change them again.

    The good side is that it seems to work faster, but I still have some issues I hoped will be fixed. In any case it was a good way of learning how to upgrade in the future. Not something to do every day but worth it if the new OS has any value to you.

  13. #73
    wibbly's Avatar
    wibbly no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    221

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    Only things that weren't restored here were TCP settings, and a CryptMagic custom database (though the app was). Odd how this varies. Maybe we're not using the same version of Desktop Manager, or we're upgrading from different versions of the OS?


  14. #74
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    My apps all were backed up and restored, however 2 of them got confused in the process and needed tweaking before they worked again after the upgrade. Viigo didn't remember my account/username properly, and I had to mess with it before it recognized me again (and I wouldn't be without it!). BBWeather was a trifle confused, and I had to uncheck and recheck "use MDS proxy" before it was happy again. Aside from that, nothing was lost as a result of the upgrade for me.

  15. #75
    DonGato's Avatar
    DonGato no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    244

    Re: Latest 8300 OS: Singapore Telecom 4.2.2.314 / 4.2.2.173

    I forgot the TCP settings, those weren't backed up as well. The issue with applications was only with the ones I loaded with the Javaloader from BlackBerry JDE. Now I load them OTA, just put a page with all them and that way they are recognized by the Desktop Manager software. I also had issues with BBWeather configuration (it was lost). And of course an issue I have with Voice Mail settings is still present but in another way. Backup doesn't work if I have those settings set. I have to remove them for backup to work.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •