Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 69

...but now I can't seem to find any that are helping. so I decided to ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930

    I've seen so many of these posts...

    Advertisement



    ...but now I can't seem to find any that are helping.
    so I decided to upgrade my OS...
    I have done this many times before so I had no fear.

    as the phone was upgrading though, one of my buddies knocked it of the counter top and it bounced of the case and hung there by the USB cord.

    now all I have is a blank BB screen, a flashing red LED, and Desktop manager (v4.3) that will no longer recognize the phone.

    I know I need to do something with JL_cmdr but I don't remember the process.

    like I said I've seen tons of these posts out there but now I can't seem to find any with the answers that I need.

    anyone? how can I recover my dying blinking berry??
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    lucifer,

    fear not...we are here to help!

    click on my blog. First look at the thread on how to reinstall your OS when desktop manager does not recognize the device....

    If you need help with JL_Cmder, there is also a link to an excellent how to by Lavagirl
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Sorry for your luck luc, as Gary said there are many here to help. Can't let an awesome themer like yourself go berryless for long.

  4. #4
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    thanks guys!
    gary I'm checking it out now.
    thanks for the fast replies!

    ok...
    so I downloaded jl cmdr and I followed the directions but my computer is telliong me that it is unable to open the port...
    ??

    never had a problem with that before.
    should I un install the new OS I downloaded? that shouldn't have anything to do with the com port right?
    Last edited by luciferseamus; 12-10-2008 at 07:09 PM.
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  5. #5
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877
    Let us know how it goes.

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    lucifer,

    Have you connected to this PC before? If yes, suggest you reboot your desktop and try again....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    yeah I know...
    I'm usually so careful about all of this and constantly telling my buddies, "ok, DON'T disconnect your phones it will mess stuff up!!!"

    and now here I am asking for help and feel those cold sweats coming on...

    still blinking red, TRASH!!

    come back my little berry!!!!

    ok gary, rebooting right now will be back when my computer is back...

    thanks again!!
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  8. #8
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    ok...
    so I rebooted, and I ran jl cmdr and it is hung at the connecting to device screen...
    hmmmm
    I did have the battery out of it I'll try it again with the battery in and see what happens
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  9. #9
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    ok guys...
    this may be a bit premature but...

    I finally got Desktop manager to recognize my BB and it is loading the old OS back to the phone.

    I think that the new OS may have been messing with something, when I rebooted my machine I couldn't even open Desktop manager.
    so I uninstalled the new OS form my machine and then DM opened and I was able to select USB-pin unknown as my source...
    it then started loading apps to the phone... and right now it just popped up with a circle through a bunch of shapes and said 507 at the bottom.

    right now it has the image of the phone talking to the computer...

    I just looked back at DM and it is still loading files so this may be it!!!!!!!!
    keep your fingers crossed and wish me luck
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  10. #10
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Looks like you are on your way.

  11. #11
    Berryadict's Avatar
    Berryadict no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,297
    We're with you LS

  12. #12
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    Did it work?? Maybe the issue is DM 4.3. I had issues with loading 4.5 os until I went to DM 4.5
    THBASSMAN

    Carpe Diem!!

    thbassmanatpinstackdotcom

    Check this out!!! Mobiletropolis

    My TORCH Rocks!

  13. #13
    luciferseamus's Avatar
    luciferseamus no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,930
    SWEET!!!
    thanks GARY!!
    back up and running and loading my old backup back to the phone!

    and now I have experience with a "dead" berry!

    thanks so much for your help guys!!


    @ thbassman I tried to install DM 4.5 on this computer (work computer) and this thing is so old and slow that DM would not run smoothly on here so I've stuck with 4.3 it's done well enough for me that I'm happy with it.
    "If you ever lose your keys in a river of molten lava, let 'em go, cus' man, they're gone!!"-Jack Handey


  14. #14
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Please be very patient....these things can take a lot of time....Don't give up on it, especially when the hourglass is spinning!
    <edit>

    Great news! Welcome back
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  15. #15
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Welcome back luc. Glad to see Gary got you going.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •