Results 1 to 11 of 11

my curve took a nasty spill and i was contemplating purchasing a full oem housing ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    diamondschwin's Avatar
    diamondschwin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15

    is replacing the 8300s housing hard?

    Advertisement



    my curve took a nasty spill and i was contemplating purchasing a full oem housing from cnn.cn


    i saw a dissasembly video that made it seem rather simple.


    i know it can void my warranty etc. but as ive heard theres no stickers or anything and its literally four torx screws that hold it all together plus some pressure tabs.



    what do you guys think?
    tips?
    anyone done this?
    anyone have a video or guide?



    much appreciated!

  2. #2
    joewoo's Avatar
    joewoo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    22CF1F2F
    Posts
    492

    Re: is replacing the 8300s housing hard?

    The actual housing change isn't difficult... But its the dust that's impossible...

  3. #3
    diamondschwin's Avatar
    diamondschwin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: is replacing the 8300s housing hard?

    keeping dust out you mean? i already have a speck in under my screen anyway

  4. #4
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331

    Re: is replacing the 8300s housing hard?

    The housing should not be hard. You'll need a T-5.

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    gitchies's Avatar
    gitchies no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    235

    Re: is replacing the 8300s housing hard?

    hmmm, yes dust...i'd like to take apart my curve and clean it...wheres that video you saw?
    thanks!

  6. #6
    diamondschwin's Avatar
    diamondschwin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: is replacing the 8300s housing hard?

    cnn.cn has a tutorial video.




    it seems i am having trouble with the space bar now on my curve i dont want to make a new thread. i am past thirty days, but in the one year warranty do i just call them or go to a store and say it is not working right?


    the phone doesnt have any damage near the bottom so i think its unrelated

  7. #7
    diamondschwin's Avatar
    diamondschwin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: is replacing the 8300s housing hard?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    No one?

  8. #8
    c3po25's Avatar
    c3po25 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    212D4E69
    Posts
    323

    Re: is replacing the 8300s housing hard?

    Quote Originally Posted by diamondschwin
    cnn.cn has a tutorial video.




    it seems i am having trouble with the space bar now on my curve i dont want to make a new thread. i am past thirty days, but in the one year warranty do i just call them or go to a store and say it is not working right?


    the phone doesnt have any damage near the bottom so i think its unrelated
    did you ended up changing the housing and afterwards you are having the space bar problems?? or you haven't change the housing and you are having this problem??


  9. #9
    diamondschwin's Avatar
    diamondschwin no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: is replacing the 8300s housing hard?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I didn't change the housing I don't want to go down that road. But I'm have a problem with the space bar requiring multiple
    presses to register

  10. #10
    c3po25's Avatar
    c3po25 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    212D4E69
    Posts
    323

    Re: is replacing the 8300s housing hard?

    Quote Originally Posted by diamondschwin
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    I didn't change the housing I don't want to go down that road. But I'm have a problem with the space bar requiring multiple
    presses to register
    I had change out the case for my 8700, also changed out the keypads....perhaps is the little piece under the keypad that's damaged and causing it to no register.


  11. #11
    JPREP's Avatar
    JPREP no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    37

    Re: is replacing the 8300s housing hard?

    Looking for your thoughts: I cracked the screen on my Curve (dropping it while Christmas shopping!) and I was going to buy a replacement lens and replace it myself, but worried about "voiding my warranty." However, with the cracked screen, wouldn't my service provider not replace my phone anyway because I cracked the screen? Just curious.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •