Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

a motorola razr mini usb charger? This is my first post and first thread all ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    loonees's Avatar
    loonees no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    18

    Question Is it safe to charge my curve using

    Advertisement



    a motorola razr mini usb charger?

    This is my first post and first thread all rolled into one, yes I'm a BB no0b.

    I don't have the blackberry charger that came with the bb with me and I am at work and need to charge this badboy. So, I'm not sure of the output differences between the two. It does however recognize the charger and is working.

    am I good to go?

    thanks

  2. #2
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    I've used a RAZR charger many times before on my 7100, 8700 and Curve with no problems. As long as the charger is 5.0V and 400-500Ma, you should be fine.

    Interestingly enough, they RAZR will not charge on a Blackberry charger, it just says "unauthorized charger".

  3. #3
    shakuyi's Avatar
    shakuyi no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2425A121
    Posts
    204

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    the razr charger wont work on the bb but the bb charger will charge a razr

    wow i jsut read that post lol hes right about the voltage too
    Last edited by shakuyi; 08-14-2007 at 08:23 PM. Reason: Automerged.

  4. #4
    loonees's Avatar
    loonees no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    18

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    actually the charger is 5.0V and 300Ma and is working.

    thanks for the help

  5. #5
    shakuyi's Avatar
    shakuyi no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2425A121
    Posts
    204

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    be careful u dont want to ruin your battery by not having the correct charger on it

  6. #6
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    My OEM charger is 400Ma, but when I charge it on my computer via USB, it's at 500Ma. I think having it at 300Ma would just cause it to charge slower, it's been a long time since I did electronics math.

    Edit: Yes, I am correct. The amperage is just the amount of current over a period of time. Or something link that. It's a bit more complicated than that.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ampere
    Last edited by BenMarvin; 08-14-2007 at 09:54 PM.

  7. #7
    loonees's Avatar
    loonees no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    18

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    so by that logic, I'm good to go, it'll just take longer to charge. I'm fine with that, better than the phone dying at work.

    I also like this fact because I have had a few razrs in the past and have numerous chargers still in my possesion.

  8. #8
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    I would just be wary of off-brand chargers. I used a (brand new) no-name car charger once that didn't work at all, it actually drained my BB battery.

  9. #9
    loonees's Avatar
    loonees no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    18

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    I've noticed some issues with those in the past myself.

    thanks Ben

  10. #10
    BenMarvin's Avatar
    BenMarvin no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    1,970

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    You're welcome.
    Welcome to Pinstack, BTW.

  11. #11
    loonees's Avatar
    loonees no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    18

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    lots of good info here.

    I am also having a problem loading the desktop manager too. I'm thinking it is more of a computer issue on my part though. Not the software.

  12. #12
    rubuntu's Avatar
    rubuntu no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    22

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    Quote Originally Posted by loonees
    lots of good info here.

    I am also having a problem loading the desktop manager too. I'm thinking it is more of a computer issue on my part though. Not the software.
    can you specify what issues you have? do you get any error message?

  13. #13
    loonees's Avatar
    loonees no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    18

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    It is an error message, I think it was 1327 : invalid drive F:
    (not sure on the error #) I closed out the window before writing it down.

    I also do not have the bb plugged into my computer when installing, but have before. Possibly there were some drivers installed and it is trying to route the program there???

    I'll try looking for them and deleting those

  14. #14
    rubuntu's Avatar
    rubuntu no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    22

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    ok, try to "fresh install" desktop manager without blackberry being plugged in to the computer. do not use reinstall feature offered when uninstalling. reply if problem persist. try to get that error message that you're getting and post it here.

    cheers!

  15. #15
    loonees's Avatar
    loonees no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    18

    Re: Is it safe to charge my curve using

    that was the error 1327 invalid drive F: I even did a full system search for anything BB and found 2 files, deleted them and restarted my computer. Still the same error

    ???

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •