Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

So here is something interesting, As we all know the GPS has been locked by ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    yettiman2208's Avatar
    yettiman2208 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    142

    Interesting 8330(VZW) GPS development (on my device)

    Advertisement



    So here is something interesting,

    As we all know the GPS has been locked by VZW on mulitple BB devices.

    So i have been messing around just figuring out what the deal is, device side wise.

    All previous attempts had yeilded things like "Device GPS unavailable, or Device GPS locked"

    particularly Windows Live search. I enabled the GPS in there and immediately it would inform me that the GPS was innacessable.

    NOW

    i upgraded to 4.5.0.45, and accidently did something where it always asks me for permissions for applications to access different parts of the phone (never used to do this) and so I was messing around and i opened up Windows live search, went to options and GPS configuration. Now when i enabled this i got a popup telling me that Windows live search was trying to access the device GPS, and whether to allow or deny this. Initially i unchecked do not ask again, went down and clicked on the link for "vendor something or other". nothing happened, so i decided to deny it, to see what would happen. i then got the response from WIndows live that it could not access GPS device (same as what it used to do) Now i exited out the application, opened it back up again and went into configuration, and this time i again unchecked the do not ask box and hit allow. The popup immediately came up again, so i did it again. Now here is the kicker. My windows live status says WAITING FOR LOCATION where it used to say something like no GPS or device locked or whatever. And then when i try to close the application the samepopup comes up again.

    So clearly something is different here.
    I tried google maps, and nothing popped up asking for access to GPS so :/

    i tried going outside for a minute to two while windows live was "waiting for location" to no avail.

    any ideas about this? any ideas that i can try to maybe take another step forward?

  2. #2
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319
    Cool cool
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  3. #3
    Bob G's Avatar
    Bob G no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21
    Dump Verizon.

    After four years of Verizon's high prices (and outdated and crippled phones) I switched to AT&T. I have access to the newest phones at a far better price, and I actually get better signal. My only regret is waiting so long.

  4. #4
    misterrx's Avatar
    misterrx no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    31A53A3E
    Posts
    188
    Blip Social does the same thing, but cannot access the GPS. I have been beta testing this and have worked with the developer to no avail.

    Google Maps "pretends" to locate me by GPS, but I have learned it is cell triangulation, which is why it cannot locate me more precisely.

    Aside from GPS, I have tried to be a beta in Threaded SMS and CDMA phones will not send SMS through that client only through the SMS featue on BB. Something to do with cross functions, but it will show received messages. Too bad it looked to be a great beta!

  5. #5
    beesy90's Avatar
    beesy90 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3

    Att

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob G View Post
    Dump Verizon.

    After four years of Verizon's high prices (and outdated and crippled phones) I switched to AT&T. I have access to the newest phones at a far better price, and I actually get better signal. My only regret is waiting so long.

    I was with att for 10 years, and in all that time, they always tried to mess with my bill....finally in in 07 I had 3000 rollover minutes. and the next month came along and I noticed a lot of callls to places I never heard of...I immediatlely called one their reps and they said I made those calls before and so I looked at my old bills and sure enough the calls were there. the point is my wife and I never called these other countries or bogus phone number, what att did was to pat my bill with calls to get rid of my rollover minutes, I'm sure of it!!!!! I should have looked before but didn't. I couldn't point the finger at them but I know no one in my family made those phone calls....so I politely told them what I thought of them an cancelled their service.....they suck, watchem close....rollover minutes suckkkkk! So does AT&T......verizon is higher priced but anthing is an improvement over att.

  6. #6
    Dahm's Avatar
    Dahm no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    29
    Im sick and tired of Verizon as well. Ill be sharing a plan with my girlfriend soon, as I think we'll switch to AT&T, or T-Mobile.

    No clue as to what might be going on with your GPS, but goodluck with it.

    Is there a list on a different thread about companies that don't lock GPS, etc.? Im looking into switching in the beginning of 2009.

  7. #7
    Flash865's Avatar
    Flash865 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    I am against paying Verizon every month for something I can pay once for and then use for the forseeable future. Is there anyone out there using one of the Freedom 2000 GPS pucks to do the GPS for them on a my phone? I am thinking of buying one and would like to verify that they work with either Blackberry Maps of Google Maps.
    dh

  8. #8
    misterrx's Avatar
    misterrx no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    31A53A3E
    Posts
    188
    I have been off and on wiuth VErizon whether through their own brand Verizon or other companies they have bought up since I first bought my bag phone and insstalled into my car after wards.

    I have tried AT&T and if you are ever unfortunate to read the dilemma of them charging me $1500,00 and almost losing a mortgage for a new home, don;t it is tediuos and boring. Nevertheless my wife refuses At&T and we just changed our home phone to cable, and saved $60/mos for 12 months then $30/month thereafter for the same services.

    Verizon has it's ups and downs. It is slower to get some of their phones on the market but when they put in their own phones they tend to be dynamic. The Dare is a great first line phone top model pre-smartphone for college and pre-professionals who do not want Blackberry's iSlabs or Treops.

    Verizon CS over the past 9 years has serviced me well. They have never let a billing dispute pass they have fixed every one. The latest fix was a phone that I had to get refurbed and ended up getting 3 refurbed in a row bad lots. Finally due to my persistance and followup they allowed me to upgrade using my NE2 and I chose the Curve and paid $50 for it. The next morning a new rebate form $50 was changed to $70 and I called them and they fixed it within 20 minutes without fail. However my first call rep said I would have to send my phone back and cancel service and rebuy from scratch. Yea right. Got that fixed within minutes with another call back.

    Advice, be firm and respectful never yell. If you need to ask for a supervisor pleasantly and most likely they will research and help you within reason.

    GPS is a poor thing to cripple but for the service I get all over the country better that Slomobile, AT&slimne, SPrint,extelme, etc.
    "How am I supposed to know? I don't even remember what I had for breakfast."

    BB VZW 8330 Curve 4.5.0.77
    PIN is in Profile

  9. #9
    javijavi's Avatar
    javijavi no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    178
    I've been wondering how Verizon cripples the GPS in the first place. I wonder if JLcmdr and wiping the flash rom, then reloading with a totally different vendor's OS would re-enable the GPS. Would love to hear if anyone has tried this. I dont see how Verizon's little java app can be so tightly integrated with the phone so that only it can access the GPS. Unless some verizon software dev's sat down with RIM and arranged this whole thing.

    Anyway yea buy a SirfstarIII enabled GPS puck/keychain and use google maps/amaze GPS for the rest of your life.

  10. #10
    zyiro's Avatar
    zyiro no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    302A0AFF
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by javijavi View Post
    I've been wondering how Verizon cripples the GPS in the first place. I wonder if JLcmdr and wiping the flash rom, then reloading with a totally different vendor's OS would re-enable the GPS. Would love to hear if anyone has tried this. I dont see how Verizon's little java app can be so tightly integrated with the phone so that only it can access the GPS. Unless some verizon software dev's sat down with RIM and arranged this whole thing.

    Anyway yea buy a SirfstarIII enabled GPS puck/keychain and use google maps/amaze GPS for the rest of your life.

    i was able to pick up a Holux GPSlim bluetooth GPS for 30 bucks and it is alot more accurate then my girls LG Voyager with verizons VZ Navigator. So im not really complaining.

  11. #11
    tentalentss's Avatar
    tentalentss no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    3027A124
    Posts
    2
    I had work add the vz nv. It does not use the phone gps like a regular satalite, but triangulates with cell towers. You may ask how I know? Well I have gps in my car and when I go through a certian canyon I loose cell ceverage for about 30 minutes, but my car gps works just fine. I should also note that vznav depletes the battery in short order.

  12. #12
    caustic's Avatar
    caustic no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    164
    VZW and some other carriers use LBS (land based signal) to triangulate the position of the phone..how you may ask? When the gps locator is enabled in the phone the phone is constantly broadcasting a signal. The service uses triangulation to place the phone. A very simple and quite accurate process. but not as accurate as SBS.
    "Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."

  13. #13
    mikehage's Avatar
    mikehage no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    30231739
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by javijavi View Post
    I've been wondering how Verizon cripples the GPS in the first place. I wonder if JLcmdr and wiping the flash rom, then reloading with a totally different vendor's OS would re-enable the GPS. Would love to hear if anyone has tried this. I dont see how Verizon's little java app can be so tightly integrated with the phone so that only it can access the GPS. Unless some verizon software dev's sat down with RIM and arranged this whole thing.

    Anyway yea buy a SirfstarIII enabled GPS puck/keychain and use google maps/amaze GPS for the rest of your life.
    I don't know for sure if this is how Verizon cripples the gps but i know that with TELUS they basically left out the gps pde services which allow the phone to pick up the best satellites the fastest and without the pde the phone is finding all these satellites but doesn't know which one to pick but eventually after about 10 minutes of motionless activity outside the blackberry will get the same fix that it would have got in 5 seconds with the correct pde server.

  14. #14
    picko23's Avatar
    picko23 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    31AE3BD5
    Posts
    27
    How does someone get the upgradr for the gps?~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  15. #15
    kylebryant's Avatar
    kylebryant no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    33
    I just went with verizon i had my blackberry for three days and my gps nav works fine. how do i check what OS im running i think i saw it somewhere its like 4.5 something.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •