Results 1 to 11 of 11

Do you have to have BIS to instant message. I have a text, picture, video ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    jgooch12's Avatar
    jgooch12 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    instant messaging

    Advertisement



    Do you have to have BIS to instant message. I have a text, picture, video and IM package from ATT but do I also have to have a BB Data Plan?

  2. #2
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: instant messaging

    Depends on the clients...most use data(BIS) but on uses SMS

    see here: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...g_clients.html

  3. #3
    jgooch12's Avatar
    jgooch12 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: instant messaging

    What do you mean by client? Are you talking about my service provider? Which is AT&T. I'm new to this BB stuff. I just have a phone plan and a text plan which includes: text, pictures, video and instant messaging. I don't have any kind of BB data plan or internet service. I do have pay per use media net but thats all. So I'm wondering can I instant message without a BlackBerry plan?

  4. #4
    jgooch12's Avatar
    jgooch12 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: instant messaging

    Never mind about the client thing. I understand about that. Buy how do I get OZ?

  5. #5
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: instant messaging

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    At&t has it on their Medianet.

  6. #6
    jgooch12's Avatar
    jgooch12 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: instant messaging

    ok...I have pay per use media net so how do i find it quickly...i've not done much browsing on media net. I've already looked once but couldn't find it.

  7. #7
    LaTuFu's Avatar
    LaTuFu no está en línea Stack level 9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ax
    Posts
    7,861

    Re: instant messaging

    You cannot use Medianet pay per use with AT&T. The sales rep should have known this. The message package you have will work for SMS only, not MMS or IM. Your account needs to have a Blackberry Data Plan in order to use these functions.
    If I knew where I was going, I might already be there. -- Cross Canadian Ragweed.

  8. #8
    jgooch12's Avatar
    jgooch12 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: instant messaging

    But I can MMS. And i've been on MediaNet with AT&T. But your saying the only way I can IM is to get a BB plan?

  9. #9
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: instant messaging

    um...to get it downloaded to your phone...you will need a data plan. Unless you can find it in .ZIP form somewhere. Then you could load it with the desktop manager. I doubt that you will be able to find it in zip form though.

  10. #10
    jplat31149's Avatar
    jplat31149 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1
    how can i log on my IM all at once and not only to one provider at a single time with my 8310 att

  11. #11
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Quote Originally Posted by jplat31149 View Post
    how can i log on my IM all at once and not only to one provider at a single time with my 8310 att
    You will need a different application

    check here: Popular IM Clients

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •