Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Ok, so I'm going to install OS 4.5 from Bell South on my Verizon 8330, ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    bbueding's Avatar
    bbueding no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    325

    Installing OS 4.5 on Verizon 8330

    Advertisement



    Ok, so I'm going to install OS 4.5 from Bell South on my Verizon 8330, I download the file to my PC, and then I delete the vendor xml file ? I was not sure if I delete the xml file before or after the download of the new OS.

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Yes, delete the vendor.xml file after the OS is installed on your PC.

  3. #3
    yettiman2208's Avatar
    yettiman2208 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    PIN/ID
    ASK
    Posts
    142
    yea, run the install file you downloaded.

    navigate to that install folder.

    delete the vendor.xml folder.

    open up desktop manager and run the app loader.

    and it goes from there.

    DO NOT gET ImpATiont and rush the install and unplug the phone. give it time. sometimes it can take up to 10 minutes for first boot during hte install process. do not unplug anything until the phone it totally booted up adn it says succesful on the computer.

  4. #4
    bbueding's Avatar
    bbueding no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask
    Posts
    325
    It worked really well, all of my apps still work, and it seems I have a lot more memory! I'm a happy camper.

  5. #5
    ReedZ's Avatar
    ReedZ no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Does all of your backed-up data get returned to your BlackBerry (including email accounts, SMS and BB Messenger data)?

    Regards

  6. #6
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Hey ReedZ! Welcome to PinStack!

    Yes, the process includes backing up your data, then restoring it after the new OS has been installed.

  7. #7
    ReedZ's Avatar
    ReedZ no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks RoGro!

  8. #8
    kamelwithak's Avatar
    kamelwithak no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    20E127A8
    Posts
    83
    Where did u dl the 4.5 for the 8330 I can't find it~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by kamelwithak View Post
    Where did u dl the 4.5 for the 8330 I can't find it~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Right here.

  10. #10
    ReedZ's Avatar
    ReedZ no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3
    Update completed successfully without any issues! Thanks everyone!

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Nice work, Reed! Glad it was a success!

  12. #12
    mrholder's Avatar
    mrholder no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    433
    Can the upgrade process be performed on a Mac rather than a PC? I just bought a curve (my first blackberry), and the next day or so, 4.5 came out. It currently has 4.3 loaded on it.

  13. #13
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Only if you have a Window partition, mrholder.

    Desktop Manager requires Windows OS, sorry.

  14. #14
    afurlong's Avatar
    afurlong no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4
    Wow, really? No way to upgrade using a mac? Damn. Can I install the desktop manager on a computer at home and do it all?

  15. #15
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Quote Originally Posted by afurlong View Post
    Wow, really? No way to upgrade using a mac? Damn. Can I install the desktop manager on a computer at home and do it all?
    Only if it has a Windows partition. DM is currently only able to work with PCs. If you have a PC at home, then yes, you can install the DM on there and manipulate your Berry to your heart's content!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •