Results 1 to 9 of 9

Ok, so I finally got to a computer and can update the 8900 OS etc. ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479

    Installing 3rd party game from backup of previous device?

    Advertisement



    Ok, so I finally got to a computer and can update the 8900 OS etc. I had an 8310 that i backed up all the games etc that I had on it following a guide I found here at Pinstack.

    Question is can I move that over to the 8900 in any way? I tried in DM, but it didn't "see" that backup. My guess is that it's because it was an 8310 back up. I don't have the prev curve with me, only backups. I still own the software on it, that phone now is being used by my gf. I don't want to break license agreements, so we'll take it off her phone once I manage to get them on mine. As idiotic as it may sound the only thing I'm really interested in getting off it is Bejeweled. Most of the software I use is free, or costs very little. I really don't want to re-pay for a game I already own, and will be on one device, albeit a different one than bought for.

    Thanks.

    <edit> Nevermind, and admin may delete. Apparently I just have to try harder before posting. My apologies. It can be done, although bejeweled is apparently not going to work in full screen on the 8900. I did get all the other apps from the back up as well. Sorry....
    Last edited by jfcooley; 02-19-2009 at 10:54 AM. Reason: i'm an idiot....

  2. #2
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    One would think apps made for previous versions could just stretch fit themselves to newer devices... That would definately be nice...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #3
    jfcooley's Avatar
    jfcooley no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    7,479
    Thought so too. Bejeweled simply uses a little over quarter of the screen. Oddly, all of the games I got free on the other device work on the 8900.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    JeffNNJ's Avatar
    JeffNNJ no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    193
    I transferred Millionaire, Smarter Then A 5th Grader and Family Feud from my 8320 to my 8900 after my T-Mo rep told me that it couldn't be done.

  5. #5
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    I think that's why they say "customer's always right"... Sadly I don't think the boys over at tmobile are trained to handle anything past what's written on the manual...

    If the game says compatible with 8900 then yes...
    If it doesn't... No, sorry it can't be done...

    If only they had a bb and they knew what we knew...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    jenforgod's Avatar
    jenforgod no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1
    Okay, so how can I do it? I just downgraded to an 8110 from an 8120 because I wanted GPS and I want my Disco Bowling and Mervin's Crosswords. HELP!

  7. #7
    JeffNNJ's Avatar
    JeffNNJ no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    193
    Actually last time that I checked, the T-Mo website said that no games were available for the 8900. Odd because when I loaded DM, it showed updates for all three of my 3rd party games and they all look much better now. Plus, games are available on the T-Mo portal in my BB.

  8. #8
    kkrueger84's Avatar
    kkrueger84 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask :)
    Posts
    36
    I previously had an 8310, and once I got my 8900, I used DM to transfer all of my information and apps between the two berrys. All of my information and third party apps were transferred over, as well as my Golden Tee Golf game from Bplay. I am able to access the game, but it tells me I need to register, so I assume I'll have to pay for it again. It hasn't bricked my phone though, so I think it'll be okay.

  9. #9
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Pull out your previous registration code, that should work...

    If that doesn't, call em up and let em know you changed device n they may switch it over for free or charge you a nominal device switch fee... May work...
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •