Results 1 to 13 of 13

First of all: Sorry for my bad english (I am from germany) I have some ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    wixi's Avatar
    wixi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    I have some questions...

    Advertisement



    First of all: Sorry for my bad english (I am from germany)

    I have some questions about the Curve 8320. I've never had a Smartphone before not to mention a blackberry, but I want to get rid of my ipod touch and Sony Ericsson W810i,because I want to combine the 2 devices and prefer the QWERTZ keyboard over the touchscreen. I just want some music,IM,RSS, and maybe some e-mail. My Question is: Do the mentioned functions work over Wi-Fi ?And does normal pop3 e-mail work without Push?I've heard that some functions don't work over Wi-Fi. I don't want to use GPRS/EDGE, because it's too expensive with my plan(don't have BB Option nor Data Plan). I just want to use it the same as my iPod Touch right now. Is this possible?
    And I've heard there is no keylock while listening to music?Is it true?Thank you very much

  2. #2
    thbassman's Avatar
    thbassman no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    ASKME4IT
    Posts
    10,235
    The music player is pretty nice but I prefer flipside and it will play locked. As to the coverage w/o edge that I cannot attest to as I have not been w/o it since I got my 8120, maybe some of the other wifi users have. Welsome to the stacks! I Hope this helps.

    http://www.electricpocket.com/flipside/
    Last edited by thbassman; 06-04-2008 at 02:04 PM. Reason: sp
    THBASSMAN

    Carpe Diem!!

    thbassmanatpinstackdotcom

    Check this out!!! Mobiletropolis

    My TORCH Rocks!

  3. #3
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    I don't think it will be possible to use the WiFi without a Data Plan.


  4. #4
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    YOu can use the wi-fi without a data plan to browse the internet using the Blackberry browser or Opera mini. I do both of those on a 8120 without a data plan.

    You cannot get email. I also think IM and RSS are not possible without a data plan.

    You can use the BB to listen to music and a data card would expand your capacity to do that. Other than that, I don't know of anything else you can do without a data plan. Anyone else?
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  5. #5
    yozpalang's Avatar
    yozpalang no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    242
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~you can do IM but you get charged like text msag.like tmobile has free add on sofware for IM

  6. #6
    wixi's Avatar
    wixi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4
    ookaay, as far as I understand,the BB option is just for the Push-email service and the data plan is for the GPRS/EDGE connection and it is dependent on the application if it supports wifi or not(which would suck)!? Am I right so far? Sooo, does Jivetalk or Viigo support wifi?Can someone maybe deactivate the GPRS/EDGE Connection and try out which Applications work via Wifi? I'd appreciate it. Maybe I should get a 250mb data plan or something...that would be enough for RSS and IM,wouldn't it?

  7. #7
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Jivetalk requires a data plan since that's what it uses. I have not been able to get Viigo to work wi-fi only.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  8. #8
    EricaJ1073's Avatar
    EricaJ1073 no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    10,420
    Oh ok. I wasn't sure. I hadn't used WiFi without the data plan.


  9. #9
    wixi's Avatar
    wixi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4
    I found the link for jivetalk and it says "OS 4.2.1 or later including WIFI support (Pearl, Curve, 8100, 8300, 8800 & 8700 Series)" www.beejive.com

    Do you have the newest version?

  10. #10
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by wixi View Post
    I found the link for jivetalk and it says "OS 4.2.1 or later including WIFI support (Pearl, Curve, 8100, 8300, 8800 & 8700 Series)" www.beejive.com

    Do you have the newest version?
    I have 4.2.2 but I don't understand the "wi-fi" part since the thing about Jivetalk is that it uses data to transmit the (IM) msgs that it supports...and it supports several. Maybe a question to Jivetalk would be in order to get an explanation re: the "including wi-fi support..."

    Feedback
    For product feedback, suggestions, or for any support issues please email support@beejive.com. If you are filing a bug report, make sure to include your device model and OS version and the JiveTalk version number.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  11. #11
    wixi's Avatar
    wixi no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4
    maybe you have an older version of jivetalk.
    edit: I found this on the IM+ features page:
    "All connections types are supported, including WiFi (for OS 4.3)"

    hmm.maybe that means,jivetalk needs 4.3. too to work with wifi!?

    edit2:
    Configuring WiFi Connection
    If you have a wifi enabled device (OS version 4.2.1 or later) you can enable JiveTalk to connect via wifi. Go to "Preferences" and scroll down to "WIFI Options" (under the Networking section). You will see 3 options:
    - "WIFI Preferred": will connect via a wifi network if one is present, otherwise it will connect via your mobile network.
    - "Network Preferred": will connect via your mobile network if it is present, otherwise it will connect via wifi.
    - "Never": will only connect via your mobile network.
    Last edited by wixi; 06-04-2008 at 05:55 PM.

  12. #12
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Just for grins, I downloaded Jivetalk on my 8120 (OS 4.3.0.115) again to try the trial version. All went well until I try to login my ID's - I get a network error (or some such....) It just won't work (for me) wi-fi - I didn't expect it to - it's very attraction is that you can IM using your data plan and without having a text msg plan which is one of the T-Mobile requirement.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  13. #13
    kasl33's Avatar
    kasl33 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    44
    I had to have a data plan for the wifi to work.

    BTW, I have OS version 4.5 and it is SO much better.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •