Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hello, I now own the 8820. Today I will exchange it for the 8310. Reason ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    artjr's Avatar
    artjr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    31006C6F
    Posts
    83

    How do I transfer from 8820 to 8310?

    Advertisement



    Hello,
    I now own the 8820. Today I will exchange it for the 8310. Reason being is I rather have a camera than WIFI. Now before I did a wipe on my 8820, I backup everything using the Blackberry Desktop software. When I get my 8310 home, can I just do a RESTORE? Is there any programs that the 8820 had that should not load to the 8310? I am assuming all info from my 8820 will now restore to my 8310? Is this the correct way of doing it? I read somewhere to do a ADVANCE restore and just pick what files I want to restore? There are so many files that I would have no glue what to pick to backup!

    Any help or info I would appreciate!

    Art
    Two things are infinite: the Universe and Human stupidity; and I am not sure about the former.
    A. Einstein
    BlackBerry PIN# 24A12B7D

  2. #2
    j llama's Avatar
    j llama no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    4U2ASKME
    Posts
    4,319

    Re: How do I transfer from 8820 to 8310?

    use the "switch Device Wizard" on the Desktop manager.
    It will pull contacts, calender goodies, applications, and so forth to the new device from the old.
    (backs up the old device and restores it to the new device basically)
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist

  3. #3
    bglawrence's Avatar
    bglawrence no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2746CB17
    Posts
    312

    Re: How do I transfer from 8820 to 8310?

    but the 8320 already has a camera and wifi.. unless you want GPS then why not go to the 8320 which has Wifi and a cam while 8310 only has Cam and GPS?

  4. #4
    twillingham's Avatar
    twillingham no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    240C83A8
    Posts
    126

    Re: How do I transfer from 8820 to 8310?

    Use the DM and click the icon switch devices. Plug in your 8820 and it walk you. Thru the rest~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  5. #5
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: How do I transfer from 8820 to 8310?

    he said he had an 8820, not 8320

    what j llama says works GREAT!

  6. #6
    artjr's Avatar
    artjr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    PIN/ID
    31006C6F
    Posts
    83

    Re: How do I transfer from 8820 to 8310?

    Quote Originally Posted by twillingham
    Use the DM and click the icon switch devices. Plug in your 8820 and it walk you. Thru the rest~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    Well I had to return the 8820 BEFORE i could get my 8310. So I can not just do a switch, which I would have done. I guess my only thing to do is a full restore. Unless anyone has any ideas...

    Also there is a Rogers and a Vodafone software out. Which one would we upgrade to? I dont want to loose my PTT. Would upgrading to Rogers or Vodafone disable PTT?
    Two things are infinite: the Universe and Human stupidity; and I am not sure about the former.
    A. Einstein
    BlackBerry PIN# 24A12B7D

  7. #7
    Michaelsviews's Avatar
    Michaelsviews no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re: How do I transfer from 8820 to 8310?

    Simple do a backup of all your contacts and when you get the new one just restore the contacts back to the device, I did this between the 8800 and the 8820, although maybe because of the cross between the 88 and 83 series there maybe a conflict.

    Not sure but worth a try.

  8. #8
    I7oobie's Avatar
    I7oobie no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,563

    Re: How do I transfer from 8820 to 8310?

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

    You should be able to go advanced, and select piece by piece, what you want on your new phone, from your last backup. You'd think most blackberry stuff would be compatible though, right?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •