Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hi. I am an ownder of an 8330 Verizon. I ran across this really cool ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    darthlancer's Avatar
    darthlancer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2

    HELP...Unlock GPS for 3rd party apps???

    Advertisement



    Hi. I am an ownder of an 8330 Verizon. I ran across this really cool golf GPS application for BB and just when I was about to download it, it said it would NOT work with Verizon due to them locking the GPS to all 3rd party apps.

    I did quite a bit of reading and came across posts about making some modifications on the BB that will allow 3rd party apps to access the internal GPS.

    I have been an application developer for 20 years but I have been on the IBM midrange systems. However I think with a little bit of guidance, I could stumble my way thru modifying the code to get my GPS to work with 3rd party apps.

    Could anyone be so kind as to give me a point in the right direction? I have an idea of what to do..just dont know HOW to get to the code and the procedures to take.

    I really dont want to go buy a Storm.... my 8330 is only 9 months old...so I will have to pay full retail price for a new storm. Screw that..... I really dont like verizon for pulling this sh*t ...very lame to disable the internal GPS.

    Thanks.....

  2. #2
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Darth,

    I don't mean to be discouraging but I've done a lot of looking in the recent past and talked with several BB-savvy users too. I'm not aware of a way to unlock the GPS and I can't "point you" in any direction. However, I'll be one of many real interested users to know if you find a way to do it.

    Please don't reveal any secrets but can you give a clue as to what type thing you've found in your reading? I found a lot of interest but not even a hint as to a solution. Good luck.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  3. #3
    wheelz's Avatar
    wheelz no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask4pin
    Posts
    514
    Hey darth I sent you a pm with my pin I may have some info for you about this whole gps verizon crap
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    Thyth's Avatar
    Thyth no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    273
    The PDE authorization related hacks for Verizon you are referring to are not really useful to anyone other than developers with a RIM signing key, nor are they ready for prime time.

    Even if you feel adventurous enough to delve into the experimental code, you'll need source code to the application you wish to edit (or a BlackBerry module decompiler to extract it from the compiled download).
    Need an eScreen code? Try my generator: http://absolous.wavegap.com/projects/escreen/

  5. #5
    darthlancer's Avatar
    darthlancer no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2
    wow.....this does suck. Looks like nobody has a solution.

    I hate to go VW and give them more $$$$ so I can get a storm. Oh, well, it looks like they have me by the b*lls. What can I do? grrrr

  6. #6
    wheelz's Avatar
    wheelz no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask4pin
    Posts
    514
    Well it looks like thyth answered the questions thank you thyth.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    SVT Cobra's Avatar
    SVT Cobra no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1,738
    Ummm......

    Good luck with unlocking the GPS on VZW......
    It's blocked at VZW's end.

    Now, if you can hack into VZW, hack their code, and broadcast it to the BB's.....
    "Nowhere am I so desperately needed as among a shipload of illogical Humans." (Spock)

  8. #8
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Just one other comment - in at a few instances that have been reported, if you have the 8330 and upgrade to 4.5.0.160 it seems to unlock the GPS enough to work with BB Maps and, occasionally, Google Maps...for what that's worth.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  9. #9
    omegaf150's Avatar
    omegaf150 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5
    You don't need to upgrade to .160 for that. When they came out with 4.5 in genneralit unlocked bb maps.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  10. #10
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116
    Quote Originally Posted by omegaf150 View Post
    You don't need to upgrade to .160 for that. When they came out with 4.5 in genneralit unlocked bb maps.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Not my 4.5! I've had 4.5 on my 8330 for a LONG time with no GPS. I just moved from .127 to .160 and that's the 1st time it's been unlocked on MY 8330. Believe me, I checked often!
    Last edited by jblackfish; 06-21-2009 at 08:35 AM.
    For every complex problem there is a solution, that is simple, neat, .....and wrong! (H. L. Mencken) jblackfish(at)pinstack(dot)com

  11. #11
    hyphen's Avatar
    hyphen no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    30BCDAA6
    Posts
    322
    tats wat I was thinkn y not use a sprint beta os n erase the vendor file?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •