Results 1 to 13 of 13

I have an 8320 that is unlocked for AT&T in the US. I had blackberry ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    calguy2007's Avatar
    calguy2007 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4

    Help reinstalling BB Messenger

    Advertisement



    I have an 8320 that is unlocked for AT&T in the US.

    I had blackberry messenger and it was working fine and then this weekend the icon disappeared. It is listed in the installed apps in the options sections, but there is no option to bb message someone if i hit the menu key in my inbox.

    I see the IM folder, but there is no BB messenger inside.

    I have tried to search threads and do research and found that reinstalling the app seemed to be the best way to solve my issue. However, i downloaded the latest desktop (4.3) and the latest handheld software (4.2) from tmobile. Then I uninstalled and reinstalled BB messenger 4.2.

    However, I still can't see the icon.

    FYI - I am on BESt. Is it possible that my IT department disabled it? When I hit the AIM or Y! messenger icons it says "Disabled by IT policy". However, why did my BB messenger just disappear?

    Any help would be great. Thanks.

  2. #2
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063
    Maybe it's hidden, go check your applications to see if it's installed.

    or try by going to messages, BB option, scroll down and look for Blackberry Messenger.

  3. #3
    calguy2007's Avatar
    calguy2007 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    flash - thanks for the speedy response

    its not hidden - i'm positive

    and there is no messenger option in message

    other thoughts?

  4. #4
    markgallant's Avatar
    markgallant no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    430
    Have you tried a different theme?? If not you could try that....from there i would try a wipe of the device and see if it is there before you activate and then reactivate your device on the BES and see if it goes away. You could also try uninstalling and reinstalling the applicaiton

  5. #5
    wassona's Avatar
    wassona no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    PIN/ID
    2439fbe3
    Posts
    270
    The best thing I could tell you is to delete it from the phone, using the phone. Then connect back to desktop manager and reinstall it. Once you get it installed and restart the phone youll need to put your contacts back in using a previous backup. Hopefully youve backed up your phone in the past few days.

    OR

    Do a backup of of your entire phone, then delete go back to what I was saying.
    Last edited by wassona; 05-26-2008 at 03:51 PM.

  6. #6
    calguy2007's Avatar
    calguy2007 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    its not a theme issue

    i have tried a couple of times to delete from the phone and then reinstall using application loader from the desktop manager

    i'm hesitant to wipe the whole device given that its a tmobile phone unlocked for my att network and activated by my corporate IT team

  7. #7
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    calguy,

    Are you SURE its not the theme? I had the same issue on my 8320 after a OS install and changing themes fixed it. Try the Dimension Icon theme.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  8. #8
    markgallant's Avatar
    markgallant no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    430
    Quote Originally Posted by calguy2007 View Post
    its not a theme issue

    i have tried a couple of times to delete from the phone and then reinstall using application loader from the desktop manager

    i'm hesitant to wipe the whole device given that its a tmobile phone unlocked for my att network and activated by my corporate IT team

    You say its not a theme issue but have you actually tried a different theme?

  9. #9
    calguy2007's Avatar
    calguy2007 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    gary - i tried the dimension icon theme - still not there

    (thanks to everyone so far for input)

  10. #10
    markgallant's Avatar
    markgallant no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    430
    Check with your BES admin and see if they are blocking BBMessenger. Other than that I would suggest trying the wipe as I mentioned above.

  11. #11
    sbhokc's Avatar
    sbhokc no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    2461801B
    Posts
    30
    I have accidently removed my icon before. Connect your BB to the desktop manager and make sure the BB messenger is checked. If not then put a check next to it and update. It should be there. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  12. #12
    volkanerkan's Avatar
    volkanerkan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    PIN/ID
    252B8E82
    Posts
    101
    Blackberry button and show all, if it is not there, admin would have diabled it or made a mistake like deletong it.



    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    jaesternbach's Avatar
    jaesternbach no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    24b04967
    Posts
    417
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~ the easiest way to find out if your bb messenger has been blocked is to simply ask a fellow bb employee if that person isn't having problems, well then it has to be something with your phone.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •