Results 1 to 10 of 10

okay im in a jam, does anyone have the step by step instructions to set ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    supamansimon's Avatar
    supamansimon no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    304feb1f
    Posts
    257

    Question Help, Issues with tethering w/ windows vista

    Advertisement



    okay im in a jam, does anyone have the step by step instructions to set up the connection so i can use my phone to tether on windows Vista? I bought a new computer 2 days ago and i can't get it working. I've been able to do it on my laptop but it has windows 2003( that's what im using right now) what is the difference, when i go through the steps it asks me for a username and a password from my ISP............ I don't have an ISP thats why im trying to connect using my phone. Do i have to call T-mobile? I ve searched the forums and i got some instructions but they didn't really help me with this version of windows. Can someone please help me?

  2. #2
    KEMATAY's Avatar
    KEMATAY no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    12

    Re: Help, Issues with tethering w/ windows vista

    try this link it should help http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/searc...%200%201132277 it has step by step instructions.

  3. #3
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: Help, Issues with tethering w/ windows vista

    Quote Originally Posted by supamansimon View Post
    okay im in a jam, does anyone have the step by step instructions to set up the connection so i can use my phone to tether on windows Vista? I bought a new computer 2 days ago and i can't get it working. I've been able to do it on my laptop but it has windows 2003( that's what im using right now) what is the difference, when i go through the steps it asks me for a username and a password from my ISP............ I don't have an ISP thats why im trying to connect using my phone. Do i have to call T-mobile? I ve searched the forums and i got some instructions but they didn't really help me with this version of windows. Can someone please help me?
    In this case tmobile is your ISP. On tmobile the username and password are blank. So
    Sep one is to install the DM on the PC.
    Step two establish a connection with the DM. (must be done to add drivers to the pc)
    step 3 go to the Control Panel, Phone and Modem Options. Under the Modems tab, click on Standard Modem. (I believe there is a box to click change.) Click Properties. Click Advanced. Make sure nothing is entered in the "extra initialization commands
    Step 4 go to Control Panel, Network Connections, Create a new connection, then hit Next , Select Connect to Internet, Select Set up connection manually, select the standard modem,

    Step 5 Enter T-Mobile as the ISP name, Enter *99# as the Phone Number and then click Next, Keep User Name and Password blank. Clear all the other check boxes. To create the connection, click Finish.

    At this point make sure you are still connected to the DM. If so select the tmobile profile you created right click and connect and dial. Hope it helps.

  4. #4
    supamansimon's Avatar
    supamansimon no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    304feb1f
    Posts
    257

    Re: Help, Issues with tethering w/ windows vista

    Thanks, the only thing is those are the instructions that i seen before, where it says windows vista it just says how to open up the phone/modems icon but the rest of the instructions are not there do you think i follow the windows Xp directions or what? im gonna call t-mobile right now to get the username and password unless someone knows it for t-mobile

  5. #5
    supamansimon's Avatar
    supamansimon no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    304feb1f
    Posts
    257

    Re: Help, Issues with tethering w/ windows vista

    Thanks eddie im gonna give it a whirl

  6. #6
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: Help, Issues with tethering w/ windows vista

    Good luck. Post back with results or questions.

  7. #7
    supamansimon's Avatar
    supamansimon no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    304feb1f
    Posts
    257

    Re: Help, Issues with tethering w/ windows vista

    Okay i Followed the instructions you gave me Eddie and they worked perfectly, im using Vista now, thanks. the diffrence was that unlike the other Windows versions you don't have to enter anything in the extra initialization commands box when setting it up. Your a life saver ( saved me from having to call TMO lol)

  8. #8
    supamansimon's Avatar
    supamansimon no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    304feb1f
    Posts
    257

    Re: Help, Issues with tethering w/ windows vista

    okay i need help again, i was able to get the internet going and everything was fine until i disconnected it. I went back later to connect the same way and now its not letting me. I rebooted my computer and my phone and still no connection, a message pops up says something like theres no problem with the modem but it can't connect to the internet iif it continues try logging the errors. Any ideas why it might be doing this? i also have a question.... eddie you said enter tmobile as the ISP name it doesn't give me an option to input an ISP name it only says enter the information from your ISP and it asks for a username and password( which i did leave blank) im not sure what im doing diffrent this time.

  9. #9
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: Help, Issues with tethering w/ windows vista

    Quote Originally Posted by supamansimon View Post
    okay i need help again, i was able to get the internet going and everything was fine until i disconnected it. I went back later to connect the same way and now its not letting me. I rebooted my computer and my phone and still no connection, a message pops up says something like theres no problem with the modem but it can't connect to the internet iif it continues try logging the errors. Any ideas why it might be doing this? i also have a question.... eddie you said enter tmobile as the ISP name it doesn't give me an option to input an ISP name it only says enter the information from your ISP and it asks for a username and password( which i did leave blank) im not sure what im doing diffrent this time.
    Are you connected on the DM? What error code are you getting? 692? 628? 718?

  10. #10
    supamansimon's Avatar
    supamansimon no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    304feb1f
    Posts
    257

    Re: Help, Issues with tethering w/ windows vista

    Okay i went to go try it again and I folowed all the steps one by one like you told me and this time it worked...... Do you have any idea why it would work sometime and not others? i tried rebooting my phone a couple times and that didn't seem like it did anything, than all of a sudden it just started working any ideas?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •