Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27

I have had the same problem with my tmo curve doing the update. This is ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #16
    natesax7's Avatar
    natesax7 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    PIN/ID
    244d259a
    Posts
    140

    Advertisement



    I have had the same problem with my tmo curve doing the update.

    This is what worked for me:

    1. uninstall all blackberry software from PC (DM and OS) then reboot
    2. install only the blackberry Desktop Manager
    3. Make backup of phone then disconnect it from the usb
    4. Do a security wipe on the phone (options>security options>general settings>menu> wipe handheld)
    5. Install new 4.5 OS and delete the vendor.xml file (if your running Vista you may need to use the advance search feature when looking for the vendor.xml file)
    6. Start DM and plug phone to USB. At this point the Desktop manager should recognize that you can do an upgrade.
    7. Wait for OS to install on device
    8. Run restore function in DM to get personal info back to the device.

    I know this is a bit tedious, but it was the combination that finally worked for me.
    Good luck!

  2. #17
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26
    Yes, it finally works for me too. I'm loving it. So far no problems to report. Where can I get really clean OS 4.5 themes?

  3. #18
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    The vendor.xml file is a part of the OS software package.
    Thanks for all your help. Everything is working just fine for the time being. I finally managed to upgrade it from my home computer. I even upgraded the pearl 8100.

  4. #19
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26
    Ok, I just got the error 507 on my screen. I tried syncing desktop manager. Help.

  5. #20
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    That message indicates that you have no OS on your device. How did that happen?

    You'll need to reinstall the OS.

  6. #21
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    That message indicates that you have no OS on your device. How did that happen?

    You'll need to reinstall the OS.
    I think what happened what that I updated to 4.5 at home, worked flawlessly. Then I sunc to desktop manager at work, which caused this mayhem. I think I have to reinstall the original tmobile OS, go back home and update to 4.5, and never sync to anything at work. I hate my work computer, its a piece of ROUND BIG CRAP.

  7. #22
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26
    Ok more problems, my device cant be updated because it has a password. I never put in a password. Is there a default password for TMOBILE curve?

  8. #23
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    heresiarh,

    We're working this out in the other thread. Please try and limit asking the same question in multiple threads! It confuses those of us with feable minds!

  9. #24
    somestone's Avatar
    somestone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    78
    JUST DELETE IT AGAIN OTHERWISE IT WILL NOT DO IT FOR YOU
    i just did mine yesterday.
    Just erase the vendor.xml file everytime you make a change with the DM..
    i had it pop back a couple of times..
    and yes better to have the latest DM version
    its somewhat faster than older DM versions...

  10. #25
    somestone's Avatar
    somestone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    78
    After that you would be able to select to uninstall pre-installed software onto your bb, like for example maps, bb messenger, browser, etc...

  11. #26
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26
    I'm in process of reinstalling 4.2 for now. Man these things take long.

  12. #27
    somestone's Avatar
    somestone no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    78
    lol password did you buy it used?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •