Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Hi guys, I can't seem to install the new OS on my 8320 curve. I ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26

    Help installing OS4.5 on TMOBILE (USA) Curve 8320

    Advertisement



    Hi guys,

    I can't seem to install the new OS on my 8320 curve. I downloaded it from blackberry.com. Whenever I run an update it says my device software is up-to-date. Please advise. Thx.

  2. #2
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Heresiarh, welcome to PinStack!

    Have you followed these instructions to a "T"? I suspect you either have not removed the vendor.xml file or you have more than one 4.5 OS on your PC.

    Roger

  3. #3
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26

    Works Fine?

    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Heresiarh, welcome to PinStack!

    Have you followed to a "T"? I suspect you either have not removed the vendor.xml file or you have more than one 4.5 OS on your PC.

    Roger

    I'm following the steps right now. Will post soon with update.... Thx!

    Btw, will the phone work fine if I upgrade? TMOBILE is still sitting at 4.2.

  4. #4
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Yes, barring any unforeseen circumstances with the upgrade, it should work flawlessly. The carrier is unimportant as long as the OS is specific to your device.

    One note I need to add to those instructions is to remove the media card from the device prior to the upgrade. Media cards have been known to cause issues if not removed for the upgrade.

  5. #5
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Yes, barring any unforeseen circumstances with the upgrade, it should work flawlessly. The carrier is unimportant as long as the OS is specific to your device.

    One note I need to add to those instructions is to remove the media card from the device prior to the upgrade. Media cards have been known to cause issues if not removed for the upgrade.
    Well, I just tried to do the install after deleting the vendor.xml file. The desktop software did not pick up any new updates. It just sat there idle.

    Now I'm going to try it without the media card and see if it works.

  6. #6
    gr8cop's Avatar
    gr8cop no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    185
    Make sure you reboot your computer after installing the operating system software. ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  7. #7
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26
    Well, I had desktop software version 4.3 installed, and I am trying to update to device software 4.3. Do you think that could be the problem? Right now I'm downloading Desktop software 4.6.

    Please advise.

  8. #8
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    Sorry, I thought you were upgrading to a 4.5 OS. What is the current OS on your device? Go to Options>About, 3rd line down.

  9. #9
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    As for DM 4.3, no that shouldn't be an issue, but 4.6 will work as well.

  10. #10
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    Sorry, I thought you were upgrading to a 4.5 OS. What is the current OS on your device? Go to Options>About, 3rd line down.
    Yes I am trying to upgrade to device OS 4.5. But my desktop OS is 4.3. My current phone OS is 4.2.2.180

    At the moment I'm download deskstop OS 4.6. Lets see if that lets me update device software to OS 4.5.

    Am I making any sense?

  11. #11
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    LOL! It's just that in post you said you're trying to update to update to device software 4.3! Now I gotcha!

    Did you uninstall the 4.3 DM prior to downloading 4.6? Not that it's entirely necessary, but sometimes it's just better to have a clean install.

    And then you're sure you deleted the vendor.xml file from C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research in Motion\AppLoader ?

    Reboot your PC after the DM install, make sure the vendor.xml file is gone, connect the device to the PC and then launch DM.

  12. #12
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by RoGro View Post
    LOL! It's just that in post you said you're trying to update to update to device software 4.3! Now I gotcha!

    Did you uninstall the 4.3 DM prior to downloading 4.6? Not that it's entirely necessary, but sometimes it's just better to have a clean install.

    And then you're sure you deleted the vendor.xml file from C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research in Motion\AppLoader ?

    Reboot your PC after the DM install, make sure the vendor.xml file is gone, connect the device to the PC and then launch DM.
    I've done all the uninstalling needed. I'm in process of downloading DM4.6

    After that, I will try the DS update. Will post once I see some result. Thx!

  13. #13
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by heresiarh View Post
    I've done all the uninstalling needed. I'm in process of downloading DM4.6

    After that, I will try the DS update. Will post once I see some result. Thx!
    Alright, I give up. I tried everything by the book. I guess TMOBILE has a better lock on its OS .......

  14. #14
    heresiarh's Avatar
    heresiarh no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26
    Ok heres the thing. Whenever I install DS 4.5, it brings back Vendor.xml. Whats up with that?
    Last edited by heresiarh; 10-06-2008 at 06:19 PM.

  15. #15
    RogerG's Avatar
    RogerG no está en línea Stack Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    21,111
    The vendor.xml file is a part of the OS software package.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •