Results 1 to 12 of 12

Trying to install the new optus os. I just moved from my 8100 to the ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    djtj's Avatar
    djtj no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23

    Help installing new os

    Advertisement



    Trying to install the new optus os. I just moved from my 8100 to the curve. I uninstalled all of my previous 8100 os's, and deleted the vendor.xml file from the appropiate folder. (Actually, after 3 or 4 tries, i just deleted the whole damn folder) The new os installs fine, but when I go to the app loader, nothing shows up. What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    JDWired's Avatar
    JDWired no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    3156B31E
    Posts
    663

    Re: Help installing new os

    When you open the loader, go to your C:\Program File\Common Files\Research in Motion\Shared\Loader and then load the BlackBerry.alx file from the folder that your OS is in.
    Search Flex - Directory of SEO Services

  3. #3
    djtj's Avatar
    djtj no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23

    Re: Help installing new os

    it says no additional applications for your device was found

  4. #4
    ItsNowOrNever's Avatar
    ItsNowOrNever no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    30485184
    Posts
    2,994

    Re: Help installing new os

    try restarting your computer
    Color---it's nothing but a hue of the rainbow...why do people place such importance in it?

  5. #5
    GBallew's Avatar
    GBallew no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2404b3a8
    Posts
    1,488

    Re: Help installing new os

    If your using the same DM that came with the Pearl it wont work. I was getting that message for everything when I switched to the Curve. After I installed the DM that came with the Curve, haven't gotten that message since then.
    Cingular is now the new at&t

  6. #6
    JDWired's Avatar
    JDWired no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    3156B31E
    Posts
    663

    Re: Help installing new os

    That doesn't sound very comforting...
    Search Flex - Directory of SEO Services

  7. #7
    GBallew's Avatar
    GBallew no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    PIN/ID
    2404b3a8
    Posts
    1,488

    Re: Help installing new os

    its just an updated version of DM, that and it uses ROXIO for the Media Manager, so things are just different. Like I said, after I installed the DM that came with the curve, I haven't had another problem.
    Cingular is now the new at&t

  8. #8
    zipped's Avatar
    zipped no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    212

    Re: Help installing new os

    Sounds like one of a couple issues.
    Lets start here - did you delete the vendor.xml file?
    Its here: C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader

  9. #9
    djtj's Avatar
    djtj no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23

    Re: Help installing new os

    yes i deleted the vendor.xml file. Then i tried the following, and it still did not work

    Uninstalled both desktop mgr and 8300 os
    Reinstalled desktop mgr, deleted vendor xml file, and reinstalled os
    Still did not work...

    What am i doing wrong?

  10. #10
    superdad's Avatar
    superdad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    25139092
    Posts
    393

    Re: Help installing new os

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~
    U deleted vendor xml before installing os on ur comp???
    Instal the new os, then delete vendor xml, then start dm,app loader. It should work.

  11. #11
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Help installing new os

    yep...superdad was wondering the same thing

    can't delete the vendor.xml file unless the OS is installed

    maybe he is getting Desktop Manager and the actual device OS mixed up??

  12. #12
    djtj's Avatar
    djtj no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23

    Re: Help installing new os

    stupid me.. Was deleting the vendor file and THEN loading the new os :S thank you for all the help. Updated and worked like a charm

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •