Results 1 to 14 of 14

When I try to backup my device i get this message when its trying to ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    matthiasj's Avatar
    matthiasj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    243C4CBB
    Posts
    119

    Question HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    Advertisement



    When I try to backup my device i get this message when its trying to backup my profiles:

    I only have one custom profile and I think I have did a backup before and its worked...any ideas?

  2. #2
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    Quote Originally Posted by matthiasj
    When I try to backup my device i get this message when its trying to backup my profiles:

    I only have one custom profile and I think I have did a backup before and its worked...any ideas?
    I would do an advanced backup. Go into backup and restore and click on advanced. It will bring up a right side and left side of the screen. highlight an option like address book and press the arrow to the left, make sure to refresh after. do all onfo that you need on the phone except profiles. Hope it helps.

  3. #3
    matthiasj's Avatar
    matthiasj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    243C4CBB
    Posts
    119

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    only thing is I'd like to backup my profiles. I know I can do this but I would rather not have to go there.

  4. #4
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    Quote Originally Posted by matthiasj
    only thing is I'd like to backup my profiles. I know I can do this but I would rather not have to go there.
    Go into the advanced restore and see if it will let you know the file size of profiles.

  5. #5
    matthiasj's Avatar
    matthiasj no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    PIN/ID
    243C4CBB
    Posts
    119

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    it wont tell me the size, when i try to just backup profiles i get the same error, but i can backup everything but profiles.

  6. #6
    Eddie_gauge's Avatar
    Eddie_gauge no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,970

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    Quote Originally Posted by matthiasj
    it wont tell me the size, when i try to just backup profiles i get the same error, but i can backup everything but profiles.
    I am not sure that there is going to be another alternative here aside from losing the profiles. Every article i have found in RIM's Knowledge base refers to erasing the particular area that is causing the problem. Good luck. Hopefully someone else will have another option, but none that i can find or think of.

  7. #7
    tcpetersesq's Avatar
    tcpetersesq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    matthiasj - were you ever able to reach a resolution to this problem? I have the same thing happening to me.

  8. #8
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    For some reason the custom profiles are getting corrupt. To only thing you lose is your custom profile. So if that doesn't backup it's not device threatening, just a pain in the arse to redo your custom profile.

    I have not found the reasoning behind this. Have you done anything to the ringtones locations or SD card? I'm still trouble shooting. This happened when I reformatted my SD card.

  9. #9
    tcpetersesq's Avatar
    tcpetersesq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    My issue started (I think) after I unlocked some themes. Efforts I have undertaken to fix the problem include:

    - restore from date prior to when the problem began
    - total wipe of handheld
    - uninstall and reinstallation of desktop manager (using v. 4.3)
    - clearing store content
    - creating new profile with microsoft mail (using exchange server)

    NOTHING seems to fix this - and it troubles me greatly since I can't backup at all. RIM's knowledge base doesn't seem to address the problem at all (at least not that I've been able to find).

    Any other suggestions??

  10. #10
    Blukrystlz's Avatar
    Blukrystlz no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Askme4it
    Posts
    5,250

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    Hey there, i had the same problems with my DM when i would go to do a back up it always stopped at profiles. For some reason it will not let me back up so what i have to do an advanced restore from the last back up id di for profiles only. Then do a back up for this day. I hope you understand.

    If not check this thread: http://blackberryforums.pinstack.com...me_backup.html

    Hope it all works out for you
    ~Blu~




    Blukrystlz@pinstack.com


  11. #11
    tcpetersesq's Avatar
    tcpetersesq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    Thanks for the suggestion - but I'm still in the dark. Someone get a dunce cap quick - as I can't seem to figure out how to do the selective restore. I can get the profile item highlighted on the left side of the screen, but the arrow is grayed out. What am I missing?

  12. #12
    tcpetersesq's Avatar
    tcpetersesq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    By the way - just in case I missed something, I also uninstalled DM 4.3, and reinstalled 4.2. No luck there either. I also tried "clearing" the profile setting - no go. I'm wondering if I did a complete wipe (including 3rd party stuff) whether that would make a difference. (The wipe I did before saved third party programs.) Thoughts?

  13. #13
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    The device wipe/OS reinstall might work, although I had this same issue with profiles/backup and ended up doing a wipe/reinstall and still could not get it to backup until I did a selective backup. Turns out I had to reset my profiles first prior to backing up, then the backup was successful.
    See the Official Latest OS threads updated regularly for All Devices.
    Forum Rules
    PinStack Trust Guide


  14. #14
    tcpetersesq's Avatar
    tcpetersesq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: HELP! Backup Problems with Curve

    How does one go about resetting profiles?

    By the way - in case it provides any clues, I was able to do a selective backup of everything with the exception of profiles.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •