Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Hi. I'm new to the forum. I tried updating my os after talking to someone ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    rubykate's Avatar
    rubykate no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11

    Help!

    Advertisement



    Hi. I'm new to the forum. I tried updating my os after talking to someone I met in the dentist office today...ANYWAY

    I was doing the update and now my blackberry will not come on it has a flashing red light. I've taken the battery out - everything.

    Help!

  2. #2
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Try looking here for a solution. If that doesnt work post back.

    Welcome to the stacks also.

  3. #3
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Hi Rubykate and Welcome to pinstack! Sorry you are having issues, but we are here to help!

    You may need to try and reinstall the Operating System. Thats the first thing i would try - hook up to your desktop and start Desktop Manager and try again. If you have issues, you may find this thread useful:


    How To Re-Install OS When Computer Won't Recognize The Device Is Connected
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  4. #4
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164
    rubykate, welcome to the stacks

    have you disconnected it from the usb cable? did desktop manager give you any kind of error? are you sure the update is finished? it takes about 45 minutes to an hour to complete

  5. #5
    rubykate's Avatar
    rubykate no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11
    Hi everybody! Thanks for responding so quickly.


    It was updating and the screen went black and I looked at the computer and it said it had disconnected.

    Right now, my blackberry has a black screen. I've taken out the battery and nothing. I tried to reload the operating system but when I get to number 10 there I do not see and advanced button.

    I should never have done this...I have no clue what I'm doing and my phone is dead now...have mercy...lol

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Actually I suspect you simply interrupted the install. Sometimes it can be lengthy and there are times it will say disconnected. Did you try just reinstalling the operating system the normal way? What happens when you do?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    rubykate's Avatar
    rubykate no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11
    Hi Gary,
    I just went back into the Desktop Manager and clicked the Application Loader and right now it says it is erasing...

    Just let it go?

  8. #8
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Looks good to go. It may take awhile as Cherri and Gary stated. Patience is a must.

  9. #9
    rubykate's Avatar
    rubykate no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by cherrichiodo View Post
    rubykate, welcome to the stacks

    have you disconnected it from the usb cable? did desktop manager give you any kind of error? are you sure the update is finished? it takes about 45 minutes to an hour to complete

    Yes, I did - when I thought it had disconnected and stopped responding. I had updated once before but I don't remember it going black and disconnecting.

    Thanks for the quick response!

  10. #10
    rubykate's Avatar
    rubykate no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by moderncowboy View Post
    Looks good to go. It may take awhile as Cherri and Gary stated. Patience is a must.

    Patience? LOL Thanks modercowboy!

  11. #11
    rubykate's Avatar
    rubykate no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11
    I am up and running but no address book, etc...do I need to do a restore now?

  12. #12
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Just load your newest backup and you should be good.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  13. #13
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    You may also need to resend your service books to get everything back the way it was. You can do that by logging into BIS and selecting service books then resend.~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

  14. #14
    rubykate's Avatar
    rubykate no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    11
    Woo Hoo! It's working! Thanks everyone!!!!

  15. #15
    moderncowboy's Avatar
    moderncowboy no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2008
    PIN/ID
    AskMe
    Posts
    7,297
    Glad you were able to get it back up and running. WTG!!~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •