I'm finally posting after "lurking" around the posts and reading up on all this information ... BlackBerry Curve forum

maxdon no está en línea Stack level 1

Hello! Newbie here...trying to get set up..

Advertisement

I'm finally posting after "lurking" around the posts and reading up on all this information on BB's...Wow! I didn't realize there was this whole BB community!

First, sorry for the vague heading, as I don't have one specific question. I have read some great things about the BB curve and am anxious to be really using mine--right now I'm just calling and checking email! Please bear with me as there's a million things to ask, but I won't right now.

I am looking for some real basic set up and help getting all the goodies for the phone!

I've never had a BB--just got the Curve 8300--must have had a very savvy salesperson, since I didn't walk into the store with the intention of buying it! But I did!

I guess I would like to know what I need to "set up" on it to have it work the best. Right now, the salesperson got the email set up, so I am able to check that. I put in the little media card, as I would like to download some music and games and ringtones and what not.

What do I need to know, or where can I find it, about accessing the internet? Do I need to do any set up? OS stuff? any internet security needed like on a pc? or would my phone be "set to go"?
    (I'm also assuming any web/internet time is using the phone minutes...right?)

Also, is there a link to getting started on downloading? As in "how to"? I have the USB cord for the PC connection, so I shouldn't have to take out the little SD card, correct? I won't need the adapter for the SD card???

What about backing up information that I have on the BB? How/Can I save that data on my PC as well incase something happens to the phone? I would like to take notes for class, conferences, etc, and then transfer them to my PC.