Results 1 to 6 of 6

I am using my iBlue 737 GPS puck for my GPS, and I am trying ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    sgtdisturbed47's Avatar
    sgtdisturbed47 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    130

    Question GPS on Live Search: Network Authorization?

    Advertisement



    I am using my iBlue 737 GPS puck for my GPS, and I am trying to get it to work with mobile Live Search. I go to the options and I go to configure GPS and it just sits there saying "GPS Receiver Initialization..." and my only option is to exit the program. When I start the Live Search program again, it start trying to initialize it again.

    When I exit the program, a message pops up saying "Uncaught Exception: Cannot Access GPS. This application requires authorization from your wireless service provider to access the GPS functionality".

    Whats with this? At least Google Maps sets up the GPS quickly and painlessly.

  2. #2
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: GPS on Live Search: Network Authorization?

    Live search may not be compatible with a GPS puck...I'm not sure.

  3. #3
    sgtdisturbed47's Avatar
    sgtdisturbed47 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    130

    Re: GPS on Live Search: Network Authorization?

    Quote Originally Posted by reddog187 View Post
    Live search may not be compatible with a GPS puck...I'm not sure.
    I asked my sister who uses a Samsung Blackjack (LOL!!) and she says that Live Search as of right now can only use integrated GPS. No bluetooth GPS functionality, and you have pretty much nailed it home

    This is a real disappointment since I like the Live Search UI better than Google Maps. The sat. maps look clearer with more detail, they download faster (counter-intuitive of such good images) and the traffic is more up-to-date. So far I have hit 3 traffic jams near downtown LA that Live Search showed me but Google Maps didn't show until 10 minutes after the jam cleared.

  4. #4
    jscottbarnes's Avatar
    jscottbarnes no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    No-More
    Posts
    1,273

    Re: GPS on Live Search: Network Authorization?

    Hmmm... that suprises me to be honest... maybe a silly question - but, the puck is already connected to the device when u open Live Search right?


    ------------
    ~ jscott
    iPhone 3G & BOLD



  5. #5
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Re: GPS on Live Search: Network Authorization?

    Quote Originally Posted by sgtdisturbed47 View Post
    I asked my sister who uses a Samsung Blackjack (LOL!!) and she says that Live Search as of right now can only use integrated GPS. No bluetooth GPS functionality, and you have pretty much nailed it home

    This is a real disappointment since I like the Live Search UI better than Google Maps. The sat. maps look clearer with more detail, they download faster (counter-intuitive of such good images) and the traffic is more up-to-date. So far I have hit 3 traffic jams near downtown LA that Live Search showed me but Google Maps didn't show until 10 minutes after the jam cleared.
    Yeah I do like the Traffice on MLS better than Googles. I thought they used the same info...not sure how they implement it though.

    I found MLS a bit slower when downloading satellite images...take forever for me. Not sure, Google works better for me for some reason.

  6. #6
    sgtdisturbed47's Avatar
    sgtdisturbed47 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    130

    Re: GPS on Live Search: Network Authorization?

    Quote Originally Posted by jscottbarnes View Post
    Hmmm... that suprises me to be honest... maybe a silly question - but, the puck is already connected to the device when u open Live Search right?
    Yeah the puck is connected but inactive (not connected to satellites). I also tried using Nav4All while setting up MLS so it's connected to satellites already but that didn't work either. Looks like it's strictly for integrated GPS.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •