Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 22 of 22

Hey guys, thanks for this VERY informative post, I just switched to Verizon and didn't ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #16
    rhythmco's Avatar
    rhythmco no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    18

    Help needed with Blackberry Maps!

    Advertisement



    Hey guys, thanks for this VERY informative post, I just switched to Verizon and didn't know I was going to deal with this.....

    Anyway, I have the latest operating system, how do i "turn on" GPS in blackberry maps? I can't find anything in the software that even indicates my GPS is actually on and working.

    On my 8800 (t-mobile) under the menu there was an option to Start GPS.

    Any help? Thanks!

  2. #17
    wheelz's Avatar
    wheelz no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask4pin
    Posts
    514
    You first have to go to options>advanced>gps>turn on location device gps that should allow bb maps to see that your gps is on
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #18
    rhythmco's Avatar
    rhythmco no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by wheelz View Post
    You first have to go to options>advanced>gps>turn on location device gps that should allow bb maps to see that your gps is on
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

    Hey thank you so much for your help! This worked and I can now use GPS with Blackberry Maps. Echoing the others in this thread - what a shame that I can't use GPS with other applications.

  4. #19
    boomermarkovich's Avatar
    boomermarkovich no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    476
    try amazegps its a free turn by turn with voice

    also try

    wls.live.com windows live search

    google maps w lattitude


    these are all free by the way. Good luck.
    Your gene pool needs a lifeguard



  5. #20
    rashard's Avatar
    rashard no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    PIN/ID
    208FBA40
    Posts
    1,201
    Some where I saw on a thread, for an AT&T hack for bbmaps and GPS, that you could edit part of your vendor file or gps file and trick it into thinking its not a vzw/att phone.. and unlock the gps to third party apps. might look into that, i dont have a vzw phone so i cant try it out
    It takes many professionals versed in many different area's to help the masses, I am just a single drop in that pool.

    BXXXX[:::::::::::::::::::::::::::>


  6. #21
    omegaf150's Avatar
    omegaf150 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5
    Well I think that is what thith is talking about with that line of code he posted. I am surprised that no one has hacked the code to de-cripple the gps.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #22
    daboogas94e's Avatar
    daboogas94e no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    31A52BBF
    Posts
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by Thyth View Post
    I realize this is only slightly related to the list of applications that support GPS despite Verizon's device crippling touch, but it didn't seem new thread worthy.

    I've figured out how Verizon controls access to GPS availability to applications on the 8x30 series of devices. I had a chat with another developer, who informed me of the process by which applications are approved by Verizon for location based services. It was enough information to enable a very targeted analysis of the GPS API internals in the operating system, and I now know how to enable GPS on 3rd party applications for these "crippled" devices.

    Application developers can enable GPS acquisition on these 8x30 series devices by including the following line of code in the GPS setup code for your location based applications:
    Code:
    GPSSettings.setPDEInfo("127.0.0.1;12569612;F5468C61EE541421908597C54975B584", 0);
    You'll probably want to verify vendor ID and model number before invoking that code, because on non-Verizon and/or non-8x30 devices, this could break GPS acquisition. These are the same GPS authorization settings that VZNavigator uses.

    Do be aware though, that this is an unsanctioned hack which may cease functioning in the future.

    Let me know if you find it useful.
    but how do u insert that line of code?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •