Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

If this has been posted before then sorry, but I got rid of PTT by ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Prorock's Avatar
    Prorock no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    392

    Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    Advertisement



    If this has been posted before then sorry, but I got rid of PTT by just changing the vendor code in platform folder (it's in the loader files folder) and running app loader on DM. Just wanted to share. Peace!

  2. #2
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    Yup I believe this has been posted, Thanks tho

  3. #3
    Prorock's Avatar
    Prorock no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    392

    Re: Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    Ha! I knew it had to be it was toooo easy!

  4. #4
    eileenjoy's Avatar
    eileenjoy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    240633A7
    Posts
    31

    Re: Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    Every time I take off push to talk my memory depletes at a fast rate. I did it the more complicated way with replacing those files which was in earlier posts, and the above way. Is this normal? I always end up just putting it back and hiding it--to make it easier on myself. Everything seems to function faster when I leave it on, rather than taking it off. Am I the only one? Or did I do something wrong when removing ptt?

  5. #5
    PoliceDog's Avatar
    PoliceDog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    Pardon my ignorance, but the Curve has "push-to-talk" (PTT)? Where????

  6. #6
    jaythestar's Avatar
    jaythestar no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just Ask
    Posts
    470

    Re: Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    it should be a blu circle with a Big "P" on it. dont think anyone uses it thats why everyone deletes it plus it uses too much memory

  7. #7
    vinmontRD's Avatar
    vinmontRD no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    415

    Re: Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    Quote Originally Posted by PoliceDog
    Pardon my ignorance, but the Curve has "push-to-talk" (PTT)? Where????
    Depends on your provider offering the service (e.g., AT&T). For those of us using unlocked Curves with other carriers (i.e., T-Mobile), having the PTT software installed just means that some of our precious device memory is wasted on something we can't use anyway.

    As I recall, the left customizable button (side of the Curve) is, by default, set to PTT with the AT&T OS. I uninstalled PTT (by modding the ALX so it doesn't load), and also reassigned the left button to fire up Voice Dialing (a feature that I've grown totally dependent on).

  8. #8
    eileenjoy's Avatar
    eileenjoy no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    240633A7
    Posts
    31

    Re: Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    Quote Originally Posted by vinmontRD
    Depends on your provider offering the service (e.g., AT&T). For those of us using unlocked Curves with other carriers (i.e., T-Mobile), having the PTT software installed just means that some of our precious device memory is wasted on something we can't use anyway.

    As I recall, the left customizable button (side of the Curve) is, by default, set to PTT with the AT&T OS. I uninstalled PTT (by modding the ALX so it doesn't load), and also reassigned the left button to fire up Voice Dialing (a feature that I've grown totally dependent on).
    I'm sure it's already been posted but...which ALX did you mod? I've been having problems removing PTT and maybe your way will work? Thanks in advance. =)

  9. #9
    PoliceDog's Avatar
    PoliceDog no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    99

    Re: Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    Quote Originally Posted by vinmontRD
    ... reassigned the left button to fire up Voice Dialing (a feature that I've grown totally dependent on).
    Yes, that's the way they come from Rogers Wireless as the "factory default". (I was wondering why the User Manual calls this the "PTT" button! LOL) We now have 3 BB's in the family so it would be nice to have true PTT.

  10. #10
    DCookSta's Avatar
    DCookSta no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    312C4157
    Posts
    2,331
    Quote Originally Posted by eileenjoy
    I'm sure it's already been posted but...which ALX did you mod? I've been having problems removing PTT and maybe your way will work? Thanks in advance. =)
    I'm pretty sure its platform.alx. I remember editing the blackberry.alx for themes as well.

  11. #11
    flash24's Avatar
    flash24 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    3319688f
    Posts
    4,063

    Re: Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    I just deleted it from the Java folder (thanks cherri)

  12. #12
    c3po25's Avatar
    c3po25 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    212D4E69
    Posts
    323
    I don't think Tmo will ever get PTT....lol Any speculations on that??

    Quote Originally Posted by flash24
    I just deleted it from the Java folder (thanks cherri)
    Ditto!!
    Last edited by cherrichiodo; 08-07-2007 at 03:21 PM. Reason: merged


  13. #13
    cherrichiodo's Avatar
    cherrichiodo no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    ATA
    Posts
    17,164

    Re: Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    ^^ easiest way in my opinion

    weird tho, when i upgraded my hubbys pearl, the OS had mulitiple PTT cod files, not just one...but anyhoo...just go into java folder and delete everything that has PTT in the file name

  14. #14
    vas729's Avatar
    vas729 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    64

    Re: Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    I have been looking around in my Curve, and I have no idea how to do this. Is there a step by step somewhere in the forum? I cant seem to find it anywhere.

  15. #15
    kashfr's Avatar
    kashfr no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    PIN/ID
    24048BEC
    Posts
    30

    Re: Get rid of push to talk EASY!

    Check out this link: http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...t-rid-ptt.html
    Quote Originally Posted by vas729
    I have been looking around in my Curve, and I have no idea how to do this. Is there a step by step somewhere in the forum? I cant seem to find it anywhere.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •