Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Ok here's a little question... When I first got my 8900 and installed facebook all ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907

    Facebook resolution?

    Advertisement



    Ok here's a little question...

    When I first got my 8900 and installed facebook all was good and the app looked like this.



    after a while my icons shrank and it seemed to increase the resolution? More messages fit on the screen, the icon bar was 1/3 the size, etc. I wish I would have taken a screenshot but it thought it was the app adjusting to the 8900. Now after an upgrade it seems to just stay with the normal resolution.

    So my question is does anyone have the smaller icons/better resolution or does it just look like the screen shot above?

  2. #2
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    Mine is smaller than that.... 4 messages fit on the screen.
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

  3. #3
    s4berry's Avatar
    s4berry no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    256
    I don't know, mine look about the same size
    as your screen shot. As for messages, 4 messages
    fit on my screen.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  4. #4
    rajafarhan's Avatar
    rajafarhan no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    PIN/ID
    20F44149
    Posts
    484
    Mine looks smaller and 4 messages fit on it. My bb is 8700r
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  5. #5
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Looks the same for me. 4 msgs and I'm on a bold.

    Maybe it was a good dream. Of the coming facebook update maybe?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  6. #6
    drew4flt72's Avatar
    drew4flt72 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    520
    Well, Red...Yes.....and no. The icons at the very top are the same but of course when you upgrade you have to login to Facebook again and the "Getting Started Notification" is indeed much smaller, whereas before only 2 message could fit before, it looks like you can get 4 maybe 5 msgs to fit. The friends list is a bolder font.... Interesting....

  7. #7
    Sirthinks's Avatar
    Sirthinks no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    2831A313
    Posts
    1,569
    Quote Originally Posted by rajafarhan View Post
    Mine looks smaller and 4 messages fit on it. My bb is 8700r
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Take a screenshot and open it on your computer. It will look the same as the one in the first post.

    All screenshots on the 8900 look huge when viewed on pc.
    If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe. - Carl Sagan

  8. #8
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Ok, maybe I was seeing things. I swear though that the icons were super tiny and a ton of messages fit on the screen. I guess I could have been delusional with excitement about getting a new BB. I dunno, maybe some one will see this and prove I was right...*crossing fingers

  9. #9
    ssnxp's Avatar
    ssnxp no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,679
    Are you running .168? There have been reports of "increased resolution" on this OS.
    -Tim

  10. #10
    kkrueger84's Avatar
    kkrueger84 no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    Ask :)
    Posts
    36
    There was a difference when I switched to my 8900 as well. I had the same issues you describe above. They never really bothered me. I recently deleted the Facebook app and am currently just using the mobile site because I have more functionality that way. Once the new and overhauled Facebook app is released, I'll definitely be installing it.

  11. #11
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417

    reddog wasnt crazy...

    So it turns out reddog really wasn't crazy...

    I upped my OS to .247 and logged into facebook...

    See attached...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    i see RED...

  12. #12
    sugardad's Avatar
    sugardad no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    PIN/ID
    241ef283
    Posts
    100
    oldest releases of facebook use two resources
    net_rim_bb_facebook_resource_large.cod
    net_rim_bb_facebook_resource.cod

    newest like 1.3.30
    have the default resource built In to main App
    and net_rim_bb_facebook_resource_large.cod as an extra

    so It's up to the OS to select which resource to load

    that's my guess

  13. #13
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    That makes sense because I just tried out a memory cleaner app called "maxmem" and that deleted a facebook cod... My guess is it took out the resource_large.cod you mentioned...

    Sweet...

    Well to all of you that want higher resolution on facebook, use maxmem and it'll eliminate that cod for you...

    Second note, where did you find facebook 1.3.30? I'm still on 1.2
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  14. #14
    reddog187's Avatar
    reddog187 no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    STACK
    Posts
    8,907
    Ha! I knew I wasn't crazy! :P lol

  15. #15
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    Lol... I guess not... Now someone tell me where to find 1.3.30
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •