Results 1 to 13 of 13

OK so I'm not sure if this is a fluke or if my blackberry is ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    micliq's Avatar
    micliq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10

    Question everlasting data transfer on my 8330

    Advertisement



    OK so I'm not sure if this is a fluke or if my blackberry is constantly receiving or sending data but last night I noticed that the data transfer icon (flashing arrows pointing at opposite directions) won't go away. I made sure that none of my apps were working and that everything was close but to no avail. It's still going as I type. Sometimes indicator icons get stuck depending on the theme I am using so I've changed it to different ones and still no luck.

    The phone/browser/email capabilities are fully functional however my main concern is the battery drain. I'm sure that I'll be able to contact my company's tech support but I know I can find someone here that can help with this. It would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    First thing I would do is reset your device by powering it down and removing the battery for about 30 seconds. Lets see if the issue persists after the reboot.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    micliq's Avatar
    micliq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10
    thanks for the reply!

    no luck with that either. what next?

  4. #4
    wheelz's Avatar
    wheelz no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask4pin
    Posts
    514
    I had the same problem and a battery pull didn't work for me either so I ended up taking all my apps that update like rss and and news feeds off with dm and put them back on one at a time. I'm sure there's a better way but this way worked for me freerange was constantly updating so I changed the settings and now I don't have the arrows or battery drain.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  5. #5
    micliq's Avatar
    micliq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10
    sounds like a viable option. unfortunately i'm on a mac. is there a mac version of DM? i could just do it manually through the BB but that's a lot of time...and reboots.

  6. #6
    wheelz's Avatar
    wheelz no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask4pin
    Posts
    514
    That would be a redicoulus amount of work on just the bb I believe that rim has something for mac users on their site unfortunatly I'm on my bb and can't post a link ill go looking and see what I find. Ill be back in a little while
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    wheelz's Avatar
    wheelz no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask4pin
    Posts
    514
    Ok its called pocket mac for blackberry and its avaiable for free(I believe) and allows you to sync to your bb for everything from apps,loading and removal to well the way it reads rim made sure you could do everything with it. I don't have a mac so that's all I can tell you. Post back to let us know how it works out
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  8. #8
    micliq's Avatar
    micliq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10
    alright so i've basically deleted all 3rd party apps (sigh) and it's still happening. any other suggestions? anybody? much appreciated.

  9. #9
    dgburns's Avatar
    dgburns no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    191
    Call your carrier's support line.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  10. #10
    reddrvgon's Avatar
    reddrvgon no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    6,417
    If you turn your radio off, do the data transfer icons still stay there? If they do, they're JUST stuck... Maybe try changing theme? Or reinstalling your OS?
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  11. #11
    MR. H's Avatar
    MR. H no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    301a4489
    Posts
    132
    I have a BB 8330 as well I had the problem a week or 2 ago, I called BB tech support and was advised that the icon isn't stuck, its the device constantly trying to establish itself on the network.....the rep reset my device on the server which immediately cleared the arrows. I also have my BB set to turn off every night at a odd hour that I know ill be asleep (3:45am-5:15am) and every monday I pull my batt out when I wake up and put it back in right before I leave the house for work. With these steps I don't deal with dropped calls, the data icon problem, nothing network related...give that a try it will work. Remember to start with a tech support phone call then do the auto off and on, then the batt pull.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  12. #12
    micliq's Avatar
    micliq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10
    when i turn the radio off, they icons go away so it makes me think something is being transferred...changed themes, reboot, everything...except for reinstalling the OS. and i'm not sure i wanna touch that one. maybe let my tech support handle that one if it gets to that point. thanks though!

  13. #13
    micliq's Avatar
    micliq no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by MR. H View Post
    I have a BB 8330 as well I had the problem a week or 2 ago, I called BB tech support and was advised that the icon isn't stuck, its the device constantly trying to establish itself on the network.....the rep reset my device on the server which immediately cleared the arrows. I also have my BB set to turn off every night at a odd hour that I know ill be asleep (3:45am-5:15am) and every monday I pull my batt out when I wake up and put it back in right before I leave the house for work. With these steps I don't deal with dropped calls, the data icon problem, nothing network related...give that a try it will work. Remember to start with a tech support phone call then do the auto off and on, then the batt pull.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    looks like i'm going to have to call BB tech support. makes sense...thanks!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •