Results 1 to 6 of 6

Ever since I set up my pearl as a tethered modem on my laptop (WIN ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116

    Question error 623

    Advertisement



    Ever since I set up my pearl as a tethered modem on my laptop (WIN XP) I have the following slow down/recurring problem (and sometimes it’s very often...as in almost constant) when I try to go to a web site:
    **************************
    Network Connections:
    Cannot load dialog.
    Error: 623: The system could not find the phone book entry for this
    connection.
    **************************
    I found a site that fixes it (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forum...error-623.html) but it does it by deleting the definition. I WANT TO KEEP BOTH the tethered AND wireless definition and use the wireless MOST of the time and the tethered BB ONLY as a backup.





    Is there a way to make my network use the wireless first and omit the tethered attempt if the wireless is there. When I get the error the wireless IS running - and still the tethered connection attempts to connect too. The BB IS NOT connected to the p-c.

    The only thing that I can find to reduce the number of times it happens is to run my registry cleaner and reboot. Anyone else having this problem? Someone PLEZ HELP!!!!! THanks.

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: error 623

    JB

    Does this happen when you are surfing, as opposed to during the inital connection?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116

    Re: error 623

    Yes, It almost never happens at first...but as I stay connected, and usually after something like a Google search when I select one of the items to go to from the search, the site doesn't come up as fast as normal and at the end of the delay instead of getting the site, I get the error623 almost always twice. I know it's coming from the dial up even thought there's no reference to it.
    Thanks for the reply.
    John

  4. #4
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432

    Re: error 623

    John,

    So if I understand this you beleive that your BB Modem connection attempts to initialze even when your phone is not connected and you have not lauched the application on your desktop? I am not sure what would cause this to occur but take a look at this info from Microsoft on the error

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/320693
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  5. #5
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116

    Re: error 623

    I failed to mention originally that I had been here and tried this solustion:
    RESOLUTION

    To work around this issue: 1.Click Start, click Control Panel, and then click Network and Internet Connections.2.Click Network Connections.3.Right-click the VPN connection, and then click Properties.4.Click to select the Dial another connection first check box, and then click the appropriate dial-up connection. If there are no dial-up connections to select, you may have to create a dial-up connection and repeat these steps.

    If your VPN connection does not require a dial-up connection, click to clear the Dial another connection first check box, and then click OK.

    I right-clicked: properties: etc 1) the BB dial up connection AND 2) the original standard modem connection and never found a "Dial another connection first" box to clear.

    Just for good measure, I looked on my wireless connection too - I didn't find that option on any of them...so I gave up on this one. When I start guessing and screwing around with stuff, I have more trouble than I started with.
    THanks,
    J

  6. #6
    jblackfish's Avatar
    jblackfish no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,116

    Re: error 623

    To finish this problem, the "623 Cannot load dialog" error occurs any time my wireless internet connection is interrupted, and it may only be for a second, which isn't indicated on my wireless icon. It's the tethered connection trying to take over for the missing wireless. (I have a wireless network AND a tethered BB network definition.) I noticed the same error when I (or someone) answers a wireless handset on my land line. When I get the error, I always get two of them and sometimes more. Some of the phones interfere with the wireless internet connection, sometimes but not always - confusing.

    Anyway, I click "ok" on the error and/or wait until the interference goes away and keep truckin' - I'm not willing to give up the tethered modem connection - I like it for backup even tho it's seldom used.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •