Results 1 to 10 of 10

Can any one explain what the different emulation modes are for. I have been using ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    qbangringo's Avatar
    qbangringo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    302C0803
    Posts
    185

    Emulation Mode

    Advertisement



    Can any one explain what the different emulation modes are for. I have been using it on the IE one but there are a bunch more.

    *Blackberry
    *Openwave (WAP)
    *Openwave Gateway
    *Microsoft IE
    *MS Pocket IE
    *Netscape

    I just was wondering if anyone could explain these in detail and maybe provide more info on how these would be used. Thanks!

  2. #2
    drice30721's Avatar
    drice30721 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    20EF37F6
    Posts
    337

    Re: Emulation Mode

    I have always wondered about that too.

  3. #3
    qbangringo's Avatar
    qbangringo no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    302C0803
    Posts
    185

    Re: Emulation Mode

    Yeah the thing is I have read many posts about this but no one had any real detailed information. Some said oh i just switch to blackberry when I go to a site that is used for that! What does that mean? what are the rest used for and why ya know?

  4. #4
    fritter's Avatar
    fritter no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me!
    Posts
    942

    Re: Emulation Mode

    each website is formated differently using bb browser and with using differnt emulators they then will help identify the format.

  5. #5
    glehman85's Avatar
    glehman85 no está en línea Device Pro
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    PIN/ID
    24989104
    Posts
    2,673

    Re: Emulation Mode

    it determines how the bb browser appears to websites. this setting is important because websites often analyze your browser when figuring out how to present content. you might have a reason for wanting the bb browser to disguise itself as a different browser (such as internet explorer or netscape). for example, some banks require a certain browser (usually internet explorer or netscape) for online account access. changing the emulation mode setting allows you to accomplish this trickery

  6. #6
    drice30721's Avatar
    drice30721 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    PIN/ID
    20EF37F6
    Posts
    337

    Re: Emulation Mode

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Hack173's Avatar
    Hack173 no está en línea banned
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    249E4D70
    Posts
    2,694

    Re: Emulation Mode

    I find it alot easier if you just use Opera Mini if you want to get a regular browser.

    ~via BB 8320 (wap.pinstack.com)~

  8. #8
    ikasen's Avatar
    ikasen no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    PIN/ID
    Ask Me
    Posts
    310

    Re: Emulation Mode

    While Opera Mini shows most sites more like a "regular" browser would show them on a PC, it doesn't work properly on ALL sites with Blackberrys. Some sites require Internet Explorer for example, which Opera won't fool, but the BB Browser set on IE emulation will. Some sites require the BB Browser set to Blackberry emulation to convince the site you are using a Blackberry. Those are just a few examples that show the situation is a little more complicated than just saying you can use Opera (which I really like), and that the different emulations are important.

  9. #9
    Dwaine12's Avatar
    Dwaine12 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Good Try
    Posts
    443
    Quote Originally Posted by glehman85 View Post
    it determines how the bb browser appears to websites. this setting is important because websites often analyze your browser when figuring out how to present content. you might have a reason for wanting the bb browser to disguise itself as a different browser (such as internet explorer or netscape). for example, some banks require a certain browser (usually internet explorer or netscape) for online account access. changing the emulation mode setting allows you to accomplish this trickery

    WOW. I didn't know that, great info...thanks

  10. #10
    Dwaine12's Avatar
    Dwaine12 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Good Try
    Posts
    443
    So with that said, i have a question, there is this site that requiires me and a few freinds to use Java, the site is our work site where we put in our timesheets, (Kronos.williamslea.com), ok, i know our bb's have java built into them, and this site also requires java, but how do i get this site tio load on my BB???, thanks in advance

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •