Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hey, I am hoping you lovelg people will be able to help/advise: My BB is ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    TylerRiot's Avatar
    TylerRiot no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    21

    EDGE and GPRS

    Advertisement



    Hey,

    I am hoping you lovelg people will be able to help/advise:

    My BB is pretty much always telling me (in the top right hand corner) that I am connect to the o2 (uk) GPRS network, sometimes however it says EDGE up there but this is very rare and tends to be in very unexpected (rural) locations. I am right in thniking that of these two EDGE is quicker? And if so why is my handset showing a strong preference for GPRS?

    Is it possible to change the phones prefernce?

    Thanks!

    Tyler

  2. #2
    dropmyload's Avatar
    dropmyload no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    42

    Re: EDGE and GPRS

    I think perhaps EDGE may be on test at various sites, and your phone picks it up. I use EDGE all the time, but sometimes there are place where I only get GPRS.

    EDGE is faster, but I don't think there is any way of changing the phone settings to force it to use EDGE.

    Sorry.
    Business opportunities are like buses, there's always another one coming!

  3. #3
    gkg3059's Avatar
    gkg3059 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    PIN/ID
    204bd5f7
    Posts
    451

    Re: EDGE and GPRS

    No you can't do anything about it. Unless you move to a place where you get edge all the time.

  4. #4
    TylerRiot's Avatar
    TylerRiot no está en línea Stack level 2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    21

    Re: EDGE and GPRS

    moving house seems a little drastic! thanks guys

  5. #5
    RayZ's Avatar
    RayZ no está en línea Stack level 5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,573

    Re: EDGE and GPRS

    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~EDGE is definetly faster than GPRS and you can't force EDGE on your BB.Check with your provider to see if the EDGE network is going to be available in the future.

  6. #6
    andrewthomas's Avatar
    andrewthomas no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    PIN/ID
    2521F913
    Posts
    125

    Re: EDGE and GPRS

    Don't get me started on EDGE. Love it when abroad, cannot get on my home network as they do not have it! DAMN YOU Vodafone UK - get with the programme you're supposed to be a business network

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •