Results 1 to 7 of 7

Okay im going back to being a noob again, I am having a problem with ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    Blukrystlz's Avatar
    Blukrystlz no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Askme4it
    Posts
    5,250

    Question DM not letting me backup

    Advertisement



    Okay im going back to being a noob again,

    I am having a problem with my DM.
    It will not let me do a backup, it keeps telling me "the data was not recognized by the device".

    I have uninstalled, rebooted & re-installed DM, also i re-installed OS twice.
    If anyone knows a solution here it would be greatly appreciated
    TIA!
    ~Blu~




    Blukrystlz@pinstack.com


  2. #2
    cliffr39's Avatar
    cliffr39 no está en línea Stack level 7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    PIN/ID
    317ASKME
    Posts
    3,064

    Re: DM not letting me backup

    you reinstalled the OS and then tried to "backup" and get that error? was it after doing a restore? That's the only time I've seen that error after restoring a previous backup that somehow got corrupt files/entries.
    ~A BlackBerry without a data plan is just a berry without the crack.~
    Links to common questions.

  3. #3
    Blukrystlz's Avatar
    Blukrystlz no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Askme4it
    Posts
    5,250

    Re: DM not letting me backup

    Before i even un/re-installed anything i got that error when i went to backup.

    I think when my phone crashed last week, i went to restore and it said the same thing. I havent been able to backup since then.
    ~Blu~




    Blukrystlz@pinstack.com


  4. #4
    Gman1108's Avatar
    Gman1108 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    Just ask
    Posts
    244

    Re: DM not letting me backup

    I had exactly this too, I've got an 8300.

    When I started the backup it was just fine until it got to my address book, then gave the very same error.

    I did the same as you, Blukystlz, uninstall/reinstall DM, check for the latest DM version, but still, I get this error.

    Have you checked to see what 'might' have been backed up? After mine crashed, it created a file called 'pool.bin'.

    Not sure if your crash would have caused this. If I find anything, I'll post it here...anyone else have any ideas...?

  5. #5
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877

    Re: DM not letting me backup

    Blu what version of DM are you running?

    I would recommend doing a selective restore. Let it run through each and find out exactly where
    the error occurs and you will know where your problem lies and can troubleshoot from there.

    Did you have any errors occur during your last backup of device?
    See the Official Latest OS threads updated regularly for All Devices.
    Forum Rules
    PinStack Trust Guide


  6. #6
    Blukrystlz's Avatar
    Blukrystlz no está en línea Stack level 8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    PIN/ID
    Askme4it
    Posts
    5,250

    Re: DM not letting me backup

    i love you kim!!

    I didnt think to do selective restore...it was my profiles, so i restored the profiles from my last back up (11/17) and then tried a backup and it worked.

    I love you girl you RAWK!!!

    btw, i am using 4.3. and i dont remember if i had any errors in my last back up.
    ~Blu~




    Blukrystlz@pinstack.com


  7. #7
    Lavagirl's Avatar
    Lavagirl no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    PIN/ID
    AoleLava
    Posts
    10,877

    Re: DM not letting me backup

    Quote Originally Posted by Blukrystlz View Post
    i love you kim!!

    I didnt think to do selective restore...it was my profiles, so i restored the profiles from my last back up (11/17) and then tried a backup and it worked.

    I love you girl you RAWK!!!

    btw, i am using 4.3. and i dont remember if i had any errors in my last back up.
    NP girl glad it worked for ya!
    See the Official Latest OS threads updated regularly for All Devices.
    Forum Rules
    PinStack Trust Guide


Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •