Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

I just upgraded to a 8310 from a 8100 Pearl. The Desktop Manager doesn't find ... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    rayray22's Avatar
    rayray22 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    242810DD
    Posts
    10

    Desktop Manager Not Connecting to 8310

    Advertisement



    I just upgraded to a 8310 from a 8100 Pearl. The Desktop Manager doesn't find the phone. I uninstalled the DM and reinstalled after clearing all signs on RIM including registry entry's. Still won't find the 8310. Tried the 8100 again and it found it right away. I'm using DM version 4.5. Someone have an idea about what else can be done to resolve the problem?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    Restart the phone while is plugged in
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  3. #3
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Maybe you've tried this, but rebbot both your PC and your device. Ive had this same thing happen and a simple re-boot of both did the trick. Also, it is necessary that you downlaod your new device's OS to your PC if you are going to use the app loader.
    ​Galaxy S4 Red

  4. #4
    rayray22's Avatar
    rayray22 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    242810DD
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by chokem View Post
    Also, it is necessary that you downlaod your new device's OS to your PC if you are going to use the app loader.

    Thanks, I will download it now and see what happens.

    Ray

  5. #5
    rayray22's Avatar
    rayray22 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    242810DD
    Posts
    10
    I downloaded the OS from Blackberry and rebooted everything, still doesn't find the 8310 when connected. Anything else I could try.

    Thanks for all the help.

  6. #6
    chokem's Avatar
    chokem no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    PIN/ID
    nada
    Posts
    11,481
    Sorry that didn't work. Try this, just for the heck of it, take your media card out of the device. I had a curve once that never would connect to my pc. Sorry I couldn't be of more help. Maybe someone else has some more ideas.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  7. #7
    ealvnv's Avatar
    ealvnv no está en línea Stack Professional
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    PIN/ID
    ask me
    Posts
    3,242
    just a question, does the blackberry looks like if charging? i mean does shows like if the charger is connected to the phone
    When i say i have Bold family phones, I meant it, from the older to the younger, even the unborn ;)

  8. #8
    impak875's Avatar
    impak875 no está en línea Stack level 4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    PIN/ID
    DROID
    Posts
    826

  9. #9
    rayray22's Avatar
    rayray22 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    242810DD
    Posts
    10
    Yes it shows to be charging and yes I tried the mass storage fix to no avail.it getting to the point I am about pull my hair out because I can't load some file to it from my pc for work Thanks for the help so far.
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  10. #10
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Have you tried different cables or different computers? Sometimes they are unexplainably picky. What kind of files? Maybe someone can help you figure out a work around for now.
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  11. #11
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    rayray,

    I agree with azstar, but you also need to make sure that you are not connected through a hub, but directly to your PC.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  12. #12
    azstar's Avatar
    azstar no está en línea PINStacked!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    12,882
    Good point about the hub too gary, I hardly use them so I forget to mention them.
    Twitter? My Apps List

    Current SmartPhone: Motorola DROID Rooted, Running Project Elite v4

  13. #13
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    That happened to me last month....I was pulling my hair out because the device was charging but DM did not see it....changed the connection and all was fine.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  14. #14
    rayray22's Avatar
    rayray22 no está en línea Stack level 1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    PIN/ID
    242810DD
    Posts
    10
    The files are Adobe. I tried two other cables, still nothing.I will try a different USB port and see what happens. I only have the one computer to try it on.I am on the road making sales calls so it will be bit before I can get back to my desk. You guys are great.

    Ray
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~

  15. #15
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Quote Originally Posted by rayray22 View Post
    The files are Adobe. I tried two other cables, still nothing.I will try a different USB port and see what happens. I only have the one computer to try it on.I am on the road making sales calls so it will be bit before I can get back to my desk. You guys are great.

    Ray
    ~via smartphone mobile.pinstack.com~
    Ray,
    I guess I am not sure what you were trying to do? Are you trying to get files moved to your device/media card? If so, check to make sure that Mass Storage is enabled.

    Does your PC react with any messages when you plug the device in?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •