Results 1 to 12 of 12

How do I delete all the languages from my BB but english?... BlackBerry Curve forum

  1. #1
    marcan1984's Avatar
    marcan1984 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    244D5F94
    Posts
    142

    Deleting unnessary languages from BB?

    Advertisement



    How do I delete all the languages from my BB but english?

  2. #2
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    The easiest way to do this is with Desktop Manager. In the Application loader it will list all of the languages as well as several other app's that are pre-installed that you may not need or want. Remove the check in the box and DM will remove these from your device.
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  3. #3
    eduardog21's Avatar
    eduardog21 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    PIN/ID
    215C7A2A
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by marcan1984 View Post
    How do I delete all the languages from my BB but english?
    This is the fresh install way I always use before updating my 8320

    When you first install the blackberry OS on your computer you have to go to the C:/Program Files/Common Files/Research in Motion/Shared/Loader Files/(Your Device OS here)/Java and delete all the cod files that end in _pt,_fr except any that end in _en or _enUS. The files are always next to each other in groups. There are around 3 to 4 hundred files you will be deleting to save space. Also, delete the dynamic_ling files except the english one. The last thing I do is backup my 8320, wipe it with Java loader, and then run loader.exe from the C:/Program Files/Common Files/Research in Motion/AppLoader folder. I have never had a problem that way with the blackberry not being seen on my computer. Hope this helps and a warning: You do this at your own risk. Although it is easy to correct but a warning is needed nontheless. Good luck.

  4. #4
    tylerscott20's Avatar
    tylerscott20 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    24411101
    Posts
    122

  5. #5
    marcan1984's Avatar
    marcan1984 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    244D5F94
    Posts
    142
    Quote Originally Posted by eduardog21 View Post
    This is the fresh install way I always use before updating my 8320

    When you first install the blackberry OS on your computer you have to go to the C:/Program Files/Common Files/Research in Motion/Shared/Loader Files/(Your Device OS here)/Java and delete all the cod files that end in _pt,_fr except any that end in _en or _enUS. The files are always next to each other in groups. There are around 3 to 4 hundred files you will be deleting to save space. Also, delete the dynamic_ling files except the english one. The last thing I do is backup my 8320, wipe it with Java loader, and then run loader.exe from the C:/Program Files/Common Files/Research in Motion/AppLoader folder. I have never had a problem that way with the blackberry not being seen on my computer. Hope this helps and a warning: You do this at your own risk. Although it is easy to correct but a warning is needed nontheless. Good luck.
    Wow,way toooo much to do. Still fairly a newbie and really don't want to mess up my baby. Got to be an easier way.

  6. #6
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    There is, read my post above....
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  7. #7
    marcan1984's Avatar
    marcan1984 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    244D5F94
    Posts
    142
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryF View Post
    The easiest way to do this is with Desktop Manager. In the Application loader it will list all of the languages as well as several other app's that are pre-installed that you may not need or want. Remove the check in the box and DM will remove these from your device.
    Ok I tried this and all my DM showed in the app loader was things I could see on my apps page on my phone. Nothing about languages showed up anywhere. What am I doing wrong? HELP!!!

  8. #8
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Well then are you sure you have extra languages installed on your device? My 8320 came with only English support installed (I think RIM caught on to what a waste that was)
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  9. #9
    marcan1984's Avatar
    marcan1984 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    244D5F94
    Posts
    142
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~Well when I did the set up wizard there were a lot of languages from eng. To port.

  10. #10
    GaryF's Avatar
    GaryF no está en línea Stack Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,432
    Quote Originally Posted by marcan1984 View Post
    ~via BB (wap.pinstack.com)~Well when I did the set up wizard there were a lot of languages from eng. To port.

    Not sure I copied that ?

    Can you provide a few more details?
    BlackBerry® Certified Support Specialist
    The Shark Tank

  11. #11
    Rcbjr's Avatar
    Rcbjr no está en línea Stack Pro
    Join Date
    May 2006
    PIN/ID
    PM - Ask
    Posts
    14,848
    In the Setup Wizard, did you select any for deletion? Is the software package you downloaded and installed on you PC, the one that didn't have the different languages in the App Loader list, match the software package on the BB?

    Lets check you installed modules. Go to Options/Advanced Options/Applications. Open the Menu and select modules. Scroll down until you find "net_rim_bbabi_pm_res__en" Are there any other similar modules with different endings after "_res__"?

    Rcbjr
    You Ask, We Will Answer
    Can’t Install theme via DM?No Additional Apps Found for Your Device
    Links to Usefull KB Articles

  12. #12
    marcan1984's Avatar
    marcan1984 no está en línea Stack level 3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    PIN/ID
    244D5F94
    Posts
    142
    Yes there are alot of these with different endings after "_res_".

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •